Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-09, 12:21 PM   #1
akitson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10

I've recently installed FC10 on a Dell T5400 Workstation. The machine has 2 x Quadro FX 1700 cards installed. I have 4 monitors to install. I can get a single card (dual port ) working fine using your latest drivers with twin monitors.

As soon as I add the second card (with or without monitors attached), X won't start and bombs with a 'screen not found' error. Take the card out and everything is fine again.

The monitors are all the same (Dell 1700WFP models).

Does anyone have any guidance or maybe an example xorg.conf file I can try. Do I need to do some preconfiguring before starting X the first time?

TIA
Regards
Ashley
akitson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-09, 12:52 PM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10

Please see the forum sticky posts about how to report a problem.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-09, 02:31 AM   #3
akitson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10

Sorry Aaron, I submitted post from a different machine. Please find attached the bug report logs. 2 are included in the gz file. One for one card with two screens, which works fine. The other for 2 cards with 4 screens, which won't start X.

Regards
Ashley
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report-akitson.tar.gz (66.9 KB, 84 views)
akitson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-09, 10:14 AM   #4
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10

You're running into xserver bug #18321. If you want to use a one-GPU configuration with two cards in the sysem, you need to specify a BusID until that bug is fixed. However, it sounds to me like you want to get both cards working, in which case you'll need to specify two device sections with BusIDs. You can do that easily by running `nvidia-xconfig -a`.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 07:09 PM   #5
steven1350
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP View Post
If you want to use a one-GPU configuration with two cards in the sysem, you need to specify a BusID until that bug is fixed.
How do you do that? I have a system with two 8800gt's in SLi, and I really dont care if only gets used since I dont plan on gaming from within Linux.

Much appreciated,
Steve
steven1350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 09:11 PM   #6
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10

Probably the easiest way would be to just run "nvidia-xconfig -a". The X screens on the GPU with no display devices attached will fail to initialize and the X server should start up with just the remaining screens automatically.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 03:51 PM
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-29-12 05:40 PM
_which_ quadro cards have stereo support under driver 3123 codingfrenzy NVIDIA Linux 3 12-29-02 03:24 PM
Dual Monitor cards GF2 or GF4 Geoinfo SRL NVIDIA Linux 15 08-06-02 04:48 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.