Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-09, 02:39 PM   #1
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,961
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

Alot of OEMS or hardware guys are puting up software to support their hardware for Windows 7 but Logitech.

A company that has 90 percent of users using their devices aren't seeing drivers yet for 7.

Now how is a person supose to use their G15 keyboard in 7 when their is Vista drivers out?

Strange sin't it, im suprised Creative has software out for 7 so whats up?
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 03:12 PM   #2
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,961
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

True but other venders are offering up 7 drivers even MS is suppling them.

maybe its not their top priority but what is than? Vista has already became mainstream and isn't a big deal to them unless their still trying to get their webcam software to work right.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 03:32 PM   #3
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

All my logitech devices (headset and Mice) are detected fine in Windows 7 and install as logitech devices... not some generic driver. The Vista drivers for the G Series keyboards should work just fine, might have to switch to compatibility mode but other then that from what I read there is no real issue.

My laptops vista driver for the camera also works just fine...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 03:38 PM   #4
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,961
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

oh thats cool.

So you can get away with the built in drivers in 7 but the software that is used to display the G15 should work fine with the drivers from Vista?

Not bad.

Can't wait til this is final.

Thanks Magus, you are forum leader material shaw.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 03:56 PM   #5
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

G9 drivers work without issue too.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 04:00 PM   #6
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

All my Logitech stuff works perfectly fine in Windows 7.

So far, the following devices have been tested and used without issues. All using Vista drivers.

Mouse - Logitech MX Revolution, Logitech G9
Keyboard - Logitech G-15 (1st gen), Logitech Edge
Remote - Logitech Harmony 890

So far the only issues I have noticed are with iTunes and Apple confirmed they do not have a working solution yet after I spent 20-30 minutes on the phone with them. Connecting with iphone primary issue and their tech support SUCKS just as bad as everyone elses

And also, I have noticed texture errors in a couple of games I didn't have problems with before, Enemy Territory: Quake Wars and in Mass Effect (only on one level so far).
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 04:07 PM   #7
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,961
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

Early stages will do that.

Not bad though.

This is getting good tough and with time getting shorter to launch daye, we will see alot of stuff for 7
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 04:15 PM   #8
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
So far the only issues I have noticed are with iTunes and Apple confirmed they do not have a working solution yet after I spent 20-30 minutes on the phone with them. Connecting with iphone primary issue and their tech support SUCKS just as bad as everyone elses
haha maybe it's time to re-direct some of those funds they piss away on their stupid mac vs PC commercials every month.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-23-09, 04:30 PM   #9
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
haha maybe it's time to re-direct some of those funds they piss away on their stupid mac vs PC commercials every month.
They had a commercial the day before I called them up saying how amazing their service was and spoofing the difficulties of PC tech support.

I spoke to someone from the states, yes, but they were dumb and I had to get transferred or connected to 2 other people before I finally got a "product manager" who said she had no idea why itunes was not recognizing my iphone properly (and why it had deleted ALL my apps when I connected) and that since it was not listed under apples website she could not offer any support.

Well geez, the first bloke could have given me that half-assed answer too
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 04:40 PM   #10
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

Bigman -

Remember back in the day when drivers were made to work on windows 95/98/ME? They were all Windows 4, essentially, just different builds of the same OS. Windows XP was Windows 5, and Windows Vista is Windows 6. Due to this, the same drivers that worked on 95/98/Me won't work on XP, and XP drivers won't work on Vista.

But Windows 7 is actually 6.1, and Vista drivers, for the most part, run just fine on 7. It's just a newer build of Vista, and the only reason it's being called "7" is to differentiate it from Vista for those who hated Vista, kind of like the Mojave ads. I know a few morons who kept insisting to me that Mojave was going to kick the **** out of Vista
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 05:14 PM   #11
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Connecting with iphone primary issue and their tech support SUCKS just as bad as everyone elses
iPhone issues? I have no problem with my iPhone and Windows 7.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 05:38 PM   #12
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Logitech Not Perticipation In 7

Just to add.
My G15 is fine on Windows 7 with the Vista drivers
G9 doesn't need drivers, works fine with 7. (If you want to customise more you'll need to install the Vista drivers).
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$24.99 - Logitech X-140 5 watts 2.0 Speakers News Newegg Daily Deals 0 06-27-12 07:30 AM
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
Logitech has new speakers now. Creole General Hardware 11 10-13-02 09:27 AM
Doh, M$ Optical Intellimouse Explorer not good for games Creole General Hardware 18 09-28-02 09:55 PM
Is it possible to connect my Logitech 560 speakers to a... demonized General Hardware 2 08-07-02 04:03 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.