Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-09, 07:40 AM   #1
sijben
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default 4 monitors, two cards, twinview, center on monitor

I am running ubuntu 9.04 and have two nvidia cards GeForce 8500 GT and recently added a 8400 GS it the intention to run 4 monitors.

The nvidia-settings tool helped me to make the config go most of the way, I now have two X displays each holding two monitors in twinview setup.
This is mostly what I want, however I am running into one issue, the center of the screen udes to be the center of the first monitor, it is now between two monitors. Also the GNOME bars I had on each monitor are now over both monitors per screen.

I have compares my xorg.conf with a simple 2 monitor setup but I can not find any difference.

How do I tell X, Gnome, or compiz that I want per-monitor semantics? (note that compiz at the moment is at least letting me maximize windows to one monitor rather than the entire twinview screen)?

Below is my xorg.conf file:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildd@palmer) Sun Feb 1 20:21:04 UTC 2009

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder63) Mon Mar 23 15:33:27 PST 2009

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 1050
Screen 1 "Screen1" Above "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
Option "DontZap" "False"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "ACER X243HQ"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Acer X223W"
HorizSync 31.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CMO CMC 22 W"
HorizSync 30.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8500 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8400 GS"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device2"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8400 GS"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
# Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
#Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP: nvidia-auto-select +1680+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
sijben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 09:41 AM   #2
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: 4 monitors, two cards, twinview, center on monitor

Hi!

If I interpret your posting correctly, then Gnome/compiz finally implements
multi-screen support so that you can run compiz with two separate cards
on four monitors (xinerama disabled)? In this case, it should be sufficient to
define two screens per cards rather than using twinview. This should supply
compiz with the correct screen information (check nvidia driver readme
"Chapter 15. Configuring Multiple X Screens on One Card" for details on
how to define separate screens).

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 10:06 AM   #3
sijben
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 4 monitors, two cards, twinview, center on monitor

No compiz makes the twinview setup usable, without it, clicking maximize on a window maximizes it to the fill twinview screen size.

I actually want the twinview behaviour in general which allows me to move windows between two monitors etc. X11 is not capable of moving windows between screens.

The thing I am missing is that at the moment Gnome thinks the center of the twinview screen is between the two monitors. When I still had just two monitors and one card I got the desired behaviour where anything that should be centered appears centered on the monitor on which I am working at the moment.
sijben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 10:37 AM   #4
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: 4 monitors, two cards, twinview, center on monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by sijben View Post
I actually want the twinview behaviour in general which allows me to move windows between two monitors etc. X11 is not capable of moving windows between screens.
You could use Xinerama in order to move windows amongst screens,
but then you would loose Compiz, AFAIK.

BTW.: your description is a little bit confusing to me: my understanding is that
you use using two cards, both in twinview mode and xinerama disabled.
This allows you to maximize windows per LCD and moving them across
(twinview) screen boundaries? When using four separate screens (one
LCD per screen), then you are loosing the ability to move windows across
screen boundaries?

regards

Bernhard



Could you please send a full nvidia-bug-report.log?
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 01:03 PM   #5
technogeeky
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: 4 monitors, two cards, twinview, center on monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
You could use Xinerama in order to move windows amongst screens,
but then you would loose Compiz, AFAIK.

BTW.: your description is a little bit confusing to me: my understanding is that
you use using two cards, both in twinview mode and xinerama disabled.
This allows you to maximize windows per LCD and moving them across
(twinview) screen boundaries? When using four separate screens (one
LCD per screen), then you are loosing the ability to move windows across
screen boundaries?

regards

Bernhard



Could you please send a full nvidia-bug-report.log?

I am in the process of doing something very similar. Until yesterday, I was using a GeForce 9600 GT and a 6200 (PCI).

I have four monitors (2 x Acer 223W (the same one that he has), 2x Dell 1801FP). I am planning on wall mounting the monitors which would give me more freedom in setting up my display. I currently want to use this type of setup:

Code:
[ 18 ] [  23  ][  23  ][ 18 ]
Unfortunately I have not been able to accomplish this yet in a manner to my liking. I have tried a large variety of software configurations (and I am saving an detailing all of the options, changes, etc, as individual xorg.conf files). At the moment, I can successfully run the setup above with Xinerama and Compiz disabled, defining the outer screens as separate X screens and the inner two as TwinView.

After a few moments of achieving this setup with my old cards (9600 and 6200), the 6200 literally fried. I wasn't monitoring the temperatures, but I presume they got very hot, very fast. The GPU chip literally exploded in only about 30 seconds after attempting to play a movie (not HD) on one of the exterior monitors. I would *really* like to know how this happened, or why, and I want to be sure it won't happen again.

I then upgraded my cards, leapfrogging a new 9800 GT over the 9600.


Anyway, If I switched to another configuration:
Code:
  [ 18 ][ 18 ]
[  23  ][  23  ]
Then, like the above poster, I *could* use two instances of TwinView. Unfortunately TwinView doesn't seem to allow configuration of monitors whose virtual configuration aren't touching one-another.


Given my experience, I interpret the above poster's problems to be emanating from some feature of Compiz allowing him/her to maximize to a particular monitor (as opposed to the entire TwinView screen). I haven't attempted to use Compiz yet (for several reasons, including not wanting to explode any more video cards), but I assume he experiences the same problems we all have when using more than two monitors and TwinView. In my case, all windows are centered between the two (23) monitors and maximized to the two (23) monitors. In addition, the gnome login screen is similarly configured.

He is probably still having the mouse cursor stick issue, and I would imagine that he can not move windows between his two TwinView monitors (no Xinerama), as I cannot.

I am experiencing some annoyances that I didn't think would occur, such as having difficulty starting programs on one screen and leaving them on that screen.

Anyway, I'll continue to read these threads and I'll post my own so I can be more comprehensive.

-tg
technogeeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 03:08 AM   #6
sijben
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 4 monitors, two cards, twinview, center on monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
BTW.: your description is a little bit confusing to me: my understanding is that
you use using two cards, both in twinview mode and xinerama disabled.
This allows you to maximize windows per LCD and moving them across
(twinview) screen boundaries?
indeed
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
When using four separate screens (one
LCD per screen), then you are loosing the ability to move windows across
screen boundaries?
indeed

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
Could you please send a full nvidia-bug-report.log?
I have attached it
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (121.6 KB, 101 views)
sijben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride not working properly hlandgar NVIDIA Linux 11 01-21-13 08:53 AM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:10 AM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
Which GeForce4 Ti 4200 cards support dual monitors? avengerzz NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 9 10-07-02 12:44 PM
Dual Monitor cards GF2 or GF4 Geoinfo SRL NVIDIA Linux 15 08-06-02 04:48 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.