Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-09, 02:58 AM   #1
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default DXDiag incorrect memory?

In DXDiag, it is showing my GTX 280s to have Approx Total Memory of only 494MB, not 1024MB. I'm using 185.85. Not sure when it started doing this, but I last checked probably a month ago and it showed the correct amount.

Anyone else getting this? Does it affect what Windows can use for VRAM?
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 03:35 PM   #2
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

My 1 GTX 260 lists 2670MB, in Windows 7, same driver

Has no impact I think.
__________________
P6T Deluxe V2 ||| Core i7 920 D0 4.0Ghz||| 3x2Gb DDR3-1800 ||| 2x EVGA GTX 260 SLI ||| Corsair HX850w ||| 2x640gb HD
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-09, 07:36 PM   #3
ikjadoon
Registered User
 
ikjadoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 503
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

Check with some other tools, like GPU-Z. If it happens there, too, maybe some RAM went defective, I don't know.

Otherwise, it's probably just a Windows bug. A weird one, though.

~Ibrahim~
__________________
Overdrive PC Core2.SLI:

Core 2 Duo E6600 @ ~3.5GHz,4GB of DDR2-770, 8800GTS 640MB @ 621/1836, Western Digital 640GB, LITE-ON 20X, CM Stacker 830, Enermax 620W, Vista Ultimate 64-bit

3DMark '06: 10,302
SuperPI 1M: 15.194s
WEI: 5.8

ikjadoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-09, 09:12 PM   #4
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

I'm thinking it's a bug with the 185.85 drivers amybe? I'm showing 2671 MB

I wouldn't worry about it though
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-09, 10:16 PM   #5
ikjadoon
Registered User
 
ikjadoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 503
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

And my GTS 640MB shows 2408MB! That's not the issue: Vista inherently globs physical GPU memory with other memory, showing that number.

I've never seen lower, though.

~Ibrahim~

P.S. Or did everyone here also have different numbers before?
__________________
Overdrive PC Core2.SLI:

Core 2 Duo E6600 @ ~3.5GHz,4GB of DDR2-770, 8800GTS 640MB @ 621/1836, Western Digital 640GB, LITE-ON 20X, CM Stacker 830, Enermax 620W, Vista Ultimate 64-bit

3DMark '06: 10,302
SuperPI 1M: 15.194s
WEI: 5.8

ikjadoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-09, 10:36 PM   #6
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

my gtx 280 shows 3819mb of memory
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-09, 11:33 PM   #7
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

Dxdiag shows 384mb available for mine but nvcp shows 4478. I'll try reinstalling drivers but I've never seen this tbh
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-09, 11:58 PM   #8
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

I'm using the 185.81 drivers and I'm seeing 231MB in dxdiag for my 8800GTX.

I haven't done anything intensive to really tell if it is hindering the card, but I'm guessing it's a cosmetic error.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-09, 03:37 PM   #9
ikjadoon
Registered User
 
ikjadoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 503
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

Might be a 185.8x bug, then? Because I'm using 182.50 with 2408MB of GPU RAM.

I think people might be confusing the RAM thing. If it is more than your card has, then it normal because of Vista. But if it is less, it seems to be a NV bug.

~Ibrahim~
__________________
Overdrive PC Core2.SLI:

Core 2 Duo E6600 @ ~3.5GHz,4GB of DDR2-770, 8800GTS 640MB @ 621/1836, Western Digital 640GB, LITE-ON 20X, CM Stacker 830, Enermax 620W, Vista Ultimate 64-bit

3DMark '06: 10,302
SuperPI 1M: 15.194s
WEI: 5.8

ikjadoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 02:02 AM   #10
Llamalama
Registered User
 
Llamalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

Hope it's a bug. Mine says 494MB. Weird.
__________________
Maximus III - Intel 875K@4ghz- 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 -2 x GTX 480-Corsair 1000W PSU
Llamalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 03:57 AM   #11
FredMihir
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

ya its work and useful me...tnx
FredMihir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 12:15 PM   #12
ikjadoon
Registered User
 
ikjadoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 503
Default Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?

Hmm. My GTS 640MB still shows 2408MB in DxDiag with 185.85....might be 185.8x bug with the 200 series.

~Ibrahim~
__________________
Overdrive PC Core2.SLI:

Core 2 Duo E6600 @ ~3.5GHz,4GB of DDR2-770, 8800GTS 640MB @ 621/1836, Western Digital 640GB, LITE-ON 20X, CM Stacker 830, Enermax 620W, Vista Ultimate 64-bit

3DMark '06: 10,302
SuperPI 1M: 15.194s
WEI: 5.8

ikjadoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM
Best DDR Memory... pelly General Hardware 10 09-01-02 04:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.