Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-10, 04:39 AM   #13
silicone hoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Options for adding a third monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman_Gertz View Post
Hey, I have a Windows 7 operating system running on Core 2 Duo processor.. 2 monitors can be used, however, am also wondering if this can be used for laptops at the same time.. Any ideas on how I could work on this?
Hi dear, yes you can do that.. However, we think that you have come at the wrong forum this time.. This is for Linux - but if you have more questions about it, just please feel free to read the rules and find the appropriate thread or start a new one, alright?
silicone hoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-10, 09:37 AM   #14
Execute Systems
Workshop& Service Manuals
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Options for adding a third monitor

Quote:
To make the timing settings effective, you need to add the following line to the "Screen" section of your xorg.file:
I am sorry, but where can I do this? I apologize for being a newbie, but I just can't simply find/understand what this means..
Execute Systems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-10, 09:21 AM   #15
wysek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Options for adding a third monitor

Hello,

I have the following set up:
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G92 [GeForce 9800 GTX] (rev a2)
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G92 [GeForce 9800 GTX] (rev a2)
2 the same monitors (1920x1200) connected to first VGA (via DVI),
1 monitor (1024x768) connected to second VGA (via VGA cable with VGA->DVI).

I'd like to have the first two monitors in TwinView, and the third available in anyway.

Right now I have Xinerama enabled on all monitors and "Separate X screen" enabled in nvidia-settings. It would be ok, but the overall GUI performance is bad, moving windows (not only web browsers, also konsole) is slow.
When I disconnect the third monitor and turn on TwinView on the first two ones the GUI performance is good.
I just want to use the third monitor in such a way that the first two monitors work the same.
I don't need Xinerama at all (as I see it is causing all the trouble), however a possibility to move windows between 1st and 2nd monitor is a must.

Do you have any ideas how to set this up?
Or maybe it's not possible?

How about running another instance of Xorg for the third monitor, is it somehow possible?
wysek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-10, 05:30 PM   #16
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Options for adding a third monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by wysek View Post
Hello,
Do you have any ideas how to set this up?
You have several options:

* You could configure the first card in twinview mode as Screen 0
and the second card as Screen 1 and *not* applying Xinerama.
Depending on the WindowManager, it should be possible to
have your desktop (including effects) on Screen 0 and use
Screen 1 separately (you won't be able to drag windows between
the two logical screens). The drawback of this setup is that
windows on Screen 0 will maximize to both LCDs.
Please note that I didn't tried out such a setup for quite some time,
so I have no idea if this still works.

* You can create a multi-seat setup where you could start a second
X-Server for the the second card. You need a separate keyboard
and mouse for this, but that might not be a drawback, depending
on your requirements.

* You could use a TH2G to operate the two 1920x1200 LCDs from
one DVI-DL output (TH2G works in dual head mode in this case).
Then you can connect the other LCD to the second DVI output of
the card (so you will only use *one* card in your system). Drawback:
those TH2Gs are not exactly cheap.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride not working properly hlandgar NVIDIA Linux 11 01-21-13 09:53 AM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:10 AM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 10:35 PM
Sony SDM-S51 monitor and GeForce4 problem hassasin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 10-12-02 05:10 PM
Monitor packed in? Head_slinger General Hardware 2 09-16-02 12:27 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.