Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-09, 03:38 AM   #1
teox99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy - Rome
Posts: 56
Default mplayer TRUE-HD audio supports ?

Hello

I'm trying to get mplayer to play the TrueHD audio track in a file from a Blu-Ray disc (m2ts)
mplayer correctly recognizes the others AC3 audio tracks within the file but it fails to find the TrueHD audio track and "Audio: no sound is provided".
exactly, tsMuxer recognize the audio tracks as AC3 core + True-HD

i tried with with no luck:
mplayer -vc ffh264vdpau -vo vdpau -cache 8192 -ac hwdts,hwac3,ffmlp -aid 4352
mplayer -vc ffh264vdpau -vo vdpau -cache 8192 -demuxer lavf -aid 4352
mplayer -vc ffh264vdpau -vo vdpau -cache 8192 -ac ffmlp -aid 4352

What to do?
teox99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 04:04 AM   #2
slanbarn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 66
Default Re: mplayer TRUE-HD audio supports ?

I have no doubt that someone here has information about this, but I would guess that the mplayer maillists are a better place to get a good answere...
slanbarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 09:54 AM   #3
Gregoire.Favre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: mplayer TRUE-HD audio supports ?

mplayer support regarding m2ts and truehd is pretty poor (for example xbmc is much better in that matter) but you should be able to with the "-ausid 0x71" option (71 is the value for Wall-E Blu-Ray which I didn't test myself but come from the ml).
Before bying a Blue Ray reader I wait for proper support in mplayer :-)
Gregoire.Favre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-09, 06:23 PM   #4
seth_keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: mplayer TRUE-HD audio supports ?

I am trying to play "bee movie" with mplayer svn. According the eac3to, the audio is:

4: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
(embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB)
5: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: AC3 Surround, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB

If I cycle through the audio tracks, I see only 3 tracks: French, Spanish, and the English narration track ( #7 ), but the main english soundtrack ( #4 ) is totally missing. How can I make mplayer recognize the trueHD track? Is this even possible?
seth_keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-09, 04:35 AM   #5
Gusar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 277
Default Re: mplayer TRUE-HD audio supports ?

As Gregoire.Favre said, you need to provide the right -ausid option. No idea how to find it though, I have no experience with Blu-ray yet. Start the movie with "mplayer -v" and look through the output, maybe you'll find it.
Gusar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-09, 10:41 AM   #6
sl1pkn07
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spanishtan
Posts: 103
Default Re: mplayer TRUE-HD audio supports ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mplayer manual
−ausid <ID> (also see −alang)


Select audio substream channel. Currently the valid range is 0x55..0x75 and applies only to MPEG-TS when handled by the native demuxer (not by libavformat). The format type may not be correctly identified because of how this information (or lack thereof) is embedded in the stream, but it will demux correctly the audio streams when multiple substreams are present. MPlayer prints the available substream IDs when run with −identify.
greetings
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-09, 01:40 PM   #7
seth_keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: mplayer TRUE-HD audio supports ?

Thanks for your help guys, but I am still not there. I run:

mplayer -identify

It shows me 2 substream IDs: 0x71 and 0x55.

When I do

mplayer -ausid 0x55 -alang en ( or eng )

I get a crash in mplayer, so I figgure that is the wrong one. When I do

mplayer -ausid 0x71 -alang en

I get video and audio, but I do not get the correct track. Instead of getting trueHD English, I am getting ac3 French, and I cannot switch to the HD track with #, the HD track is not there... Any ideas?
seth_keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
What is a good motherboard? Nixdisciple CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 17 08-18-02 06:02 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.