Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-09, 03:57 AM   #1
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Intel Pentium dual core E5200 2.5ghz
Nvidia GTS 250
2GB of ram
2 dvd drives
2 hard discs

Its a cheap upgrade (mobo, cpu, ram) for an existing computer. It already has the above psu fitted, I didn't want to have to swap for a bigger one if I could help it. Anyone already running a similar setup?
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-09, 10:54 AM   #2
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Probably, though I would feel much better with a 400.... Also depends on the amperage that 12v is supllying
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-09, 11:07 AM   #3
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

i think you would get stability issues

get at least a 500w also dont skimp on a cheap noname brand
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 09:19 AM   #4
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Thanks for the replies... I didn't really feel happy about the 330w psu anyway... managed to get an ocz 500w psu for the price of a 400w. That should be more than enough.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 10:00 AM   #5
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

good choice and wise move
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 01:31 PM   #6
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Well, that would be alright with a PSU from a good company - IE a quality PSU, but if it's a generic one, then damn you don't want to take that risk. Good that you have not.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 01:52 PM   #7
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

All my recent woes have been due to my power supply (I think)
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 02:05 PM   #8
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

cheap PSU's dont on the whole provide stable voltages
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-09, 02:19 PM   #9
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
All my recent woes have been due to my power supply (I think)
What PSU you got?
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 02:34 PM   #10
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

hiper 580 but my 260 is powered nicely by a 250w vga psu

I had the 8800gt for physx/muli monitor and it sapped the power from the hdd causing bad times

I may be able to re arrange the leads and remove some fans and stuff to sort it but the psu is quite old now so I'd probably be better off getting a new one.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 02:37 PM   #11
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
hiper 580 but my 260 is powered nicely by a 250w vga psu

I had the 8800gt for physx/muli monitor and it sapped the power from the hdd causing bad times

I may be able to re arrange the leads and remove some fans and stuff to sort it but the psu is quite old now so I'd probably be better off getting a new one.
I see.

VGA PSU though... ooooh.

A quad core CPU, a 260GTX and an 880)GT, that is pushing quite a bit, though the VGA PSU play a part too?

As far as a new PSU - you can get a Corsair 850W for about $140 from Newegg - not modular, but good price. It's likely to be very quiet as well as of course giving the Corsair stability.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-09, 03:11 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

I remember when I was using 4 hdd's and an 8800gts 640 ,The PC would slow down when I turned the fans up

I'm english, we don't gots newegg...

come to think of it wheres all these best-buy stores they said they were opening...damn crunchy credit recession
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/bu...t-1637152.html
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.