Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-09, 01:01 PM   #13
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
I remember when I was using 4 hdd's and an 8800gts 640 ,The PC would slow down when I turned the fans up

I'm english, we don't gots newegg...

come to think of it wheres all these best-buy stores they said they were opening...damn crunchy credit recession
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/bu...t-1637152.html
Is that just on the 550W PSU?

AS far as for a lack of BB stores - that article says that they got delayed!


I thought you were from the USA somehow. Oh well. I sure do wish that there was a UK/ Europe Newegg.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-09, 01:30 PM   #14
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koko56 View Post
Is that just on the 550W PSU?
580w Yup

I might just stick with a dedicated vga psu, Its a much cheaper option and I'm all about the cheap.
http://www.google.co.uk/products?q=p...N&hl=en&tab=wf
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-09, 06:45 PM   #15
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

With just those specs its saying that you should have a 265 watt PSU. So you should be fine, but I wouldn't try to push the envelope.
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-09, 07:00 PM   #16
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic View Post
http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

With just those specs its saying that you should have a 265 watt PSU. So you should be fine, but I wouldn't try to push the envelope.
I really wouldn't trust that honestly.

The Antec True Power 330W only has 17A on the 12v rail.

From what I've read online, manufacturers recommend a 450W PSU with 24A on the 12v rail for a GTS 250. I'm sure that's a bit overrated, but a 330W with 17A is a significantly weaker PSU.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-09, 07:46 PM   #17
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Yeah I guess the 250 is just a 8800GTX rebrand, which at one time was a pretty power hungry card. The processor hes using shouldn't use a massive amount of power however, the calculator is probably about right. I'd trust it. But you're always better safe than sorry with power supplies.
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-09, 08:07 PM   #18
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic View Post
Yeah I guess the 250 is just a 8800GTX rebrand, which at one time was a pretty power hungry card. The processor hes using shouldn't use a massive amount of power however, the calculator is probably about right. I'd trust it. But you're always better safe than sorry with power supplies.
The 250 512Mb is a 9800GTX+ rebrand, the 1Gb is a newer, more power efficient card... but either are still going to be very heavy for any brand of 330W PSU. I wouldn't run either on anything less than a good 400W.

The thing about that power calculator is that it just adds up total wattage. Power supplies don't work like that though, so its really kind of worthless. I think you have to pay to have it actually show you how much you need on each voltage rail.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-09, 08:25 PM   #19
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
The 250 512Mb is a 9800GTX+ rebrand, the 1Gb is a newer, more power efficient card... but either are still going to be very heavy for any brand of 330W PSU. I wouldn't run either on anything less than a good 400W.

The thing about that power calculator is that it just adds up total wattage. Power supplies don't work like that though, so its really kind of worthless. I think you have to pay to have it actually show you how much you need on each voltage rail.
Aren't the 9800 chips based off a 8 series chip as well though? A bunch of the nine series as well as the eight series were based off the G92 core. Not sure which ones though.

Yeah, you're definately right, but I'm sure its a pretty good guesstimate.
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-09, 09:52 PM   #20
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Will an Antec Trupower 330w run:

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic View Post
Aren't the 9800 chips based off a 8 series chip as well though? A bunch of the nine series as well as the eight series were based off the G92 core. Not sure which ones though.

Yeah, you're definately right, but I'm sure its a pretty good guesstimate.
The 8800 Ultra, 8800GTX, 8800GTS 320Mb and 8800GTS 640Mb were G80s, made on the 90nm process.

The 8800GT, 8800GTS 512Mb, 9800GT and 9800GTX(+) were G92s made on the 65nm process.

The GTS 250 512Mb is a rebranded 9800GTX+, the GTS 250 1Gb is a smaller card with a die shrink of the G92 down to 55nm.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.