Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 06-18-09, 01:25 PM   #1
miseryindeath

Question Ubuntu 9.04 boots to terminal - 9800M GTX

Hello all. I'm a newb to all things Linux and now that I'm finally trying it, this little problem is really getting to me. I have searched these entire forums and looked on Google and can't find anything to help me solve this problem. So here it is.

I've installed Ubuntu 9.04 on a clean hard drive, installed it from within Windows on a different partition, installed it from within Windows on the same partition, all to the same effect. When installing within Windows, it installs everything just fine but upon rebooting and loading Ubuntu, it goes straight to a terminal screen where it asks for my username and password. If I install using the Ubuntu Live 9.04 CD, it takes me straight to that terminal. No GUI, anything. So I went back and used the Alternate CD. That actually installs fine after booting. Shows the GUI, installs, etc. However, it too defaults to the terminal screen asking for username and password after booting back up. If I enter the username and password, it tells me my last login date and at the end it says "on tty1." Underneath that, it says, "Linux Ubuntu 2.6.20-11-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 17 01:50:03 UTC 2009 x86_6." And under that it has what appears to be copyright stuff. I'm not sure what else to put besides the specs of the laptop (yes, laptop). If anyone could help out, it would be VERY appreciated.

Sager NP9262 laptop
Intel Q9650 Core2Quad @ 3.0GHz
2 x nVidia 9800M GTX in SLi
3 x 320GB 7200 Hitachi Hard Drives
4GB Cruical RAM
miseryindeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-09, 08:33 PM   #2
pauljohn

Default Re: Ubuntu 9.04 boots to terminal - 9800M GTX

This is not really an Nvidia question, but rather an Ubuntu linux question. But I'm so glad to hear of someone escaping Windows, I want to help.

The first thing is: