Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-09, 07:42 AM   #1
dura91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Near Paris France
Posts: 40
Default [Resolved] Nvidia VDPAU does not take into account ICC profile

When I play video with VDPAU (mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau) the ICC profile I made with argyll-cms and my colorimeter is not taken into account, but it works when I use software decoding and xv (mplayer -vo xv -vc ffh264). It's easy to see if an ICC profile is used or not by using the gamma_2_2_bright.icc profile bundle with xcalib.

Drivers 185.18.31 and 180.51 are affected by the problem.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (30.5 KB, 114 views)

Last edited by dura91; 10-09-09 at 11:10 AM. Reason: Change title to resolved
dura91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-09, 05:16 AM   #2
cehoyos
FFmpeg developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 467
Default Re: Nvidia VDPAU does not take into account ICC profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by dura91 View Post
When I play video with VDPAU (mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau) the ICC profile I made with argyll-cms and my colorimeter is not taken into account, but it works when I use software decoding and xv (mplayer -vo xv -vc ffh264).
AFAIR, VDPAU has its own method of colour correction which is currently not implemented in MPlayer (except for brightness, contrast etc.). Patch welcome.
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/vd..._c_matrix.html

OTOH, I may be completely misunderstanding the issue...

Carl Eugen
cehoyos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-09, 03:20 PM   #3
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: Nvidia VDPAU does not take into account ICC profile

It's possible this is related to overlay v.s. blit-based presentation queue implementation. Does setting the following environment variable change anything?

export VDPAU_NVIDIA_NO_OVERLAY=1
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 06:01 AM   #4
dura91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Near Paris France
Posts: 40
Thumbs up Re: Nvidia VDPAU does not take into account ICC profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
It's possible this is related to overlay v.s. blit-based presentation queue implementation. Does setting the following environment variable change anything?

export VDPAU_NVIDIA_NO_OVERLAY=1
After a quick test, this seems to resolve the problem. I will make more test this evening to see if there is no other problem (like tearing for example).
dura91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 07:15 AM   #5
dura91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Near Paris France
Posts: 40
Thumbs down Re: Nvidia VDPAU does not take into account ICC profile

Too bad, with this option there is tearing (no tearing with export VDPAU_NVIDIA_NO_OVERLAY=0), so I will continue to use software decoding. It would be great if VDPAU could take into account ICC profile with no tearing.
dura91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-09, 11:13 AM   #6
dura91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Near Paris France
Posts: 40
Thumbs up Re: Nvidia VDPAU does not take into account ICC profile

With driver 190.36, There is no more tearing with export VDPAU_NVIDIA_NO_OVERLAY=1 or composite enabled.

Thank you NVidia developers
dura91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.