Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-07, 05:08 PM   #1
DCult
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 264
Default Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Just got it for 40 Euros. Install took ages. Defrag after install with the Raptor took another millennium. Initial impressions: Slight fps increase compared to demo. Starting vehicles and stages suck and to unlock all the stages and cars they charge you 4.5 Euros (!). Championship mode is much better, as is the career mode. Keyboard control is good, but have yet to try the MOMO racing wheel. This is definitely no simulation but is fun nevertheless. Crashed on me once but the patch says that it takes care of that. Anyone else who got it has an opinion to share?

PS. For those interested (I don't) the european version (if there is one) has FADE (?) and STARFORCE protection.
DCult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-07, 05:15 PM   #2
JaylumX
Something Else
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somewhere Else
Posts: 374
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Still handles like a woman with a fat ass. Issues with Logitech Cordless Rumble Pad 2 gamepad as sometimes it doesn't work. Had to use keyboard as car handles better. Old bugs still present like being unable to select Ultra for shadows and unable to select high dsp effect under openAL.

Still a cool game.
__________________
Half the fun is discovering it yourself

i5 760 @ 4.0 | P7P55D-E | 8GB DDR3 | 60 & 120GB SSD - 1TB SATA 2 | HD 7950 @ 1200/6300 | HDAV 1.3 | HD598

Xbox 360 120GB | PS3 40GB | Wii 8GB | Sony KDL-32EX723BU
JaylumX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-07, 05:17 PM   #3
DCult
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 264
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaylumX
Still handles like a woman with a fat ass. Issues with Logitech Cordless Rumble Pad 2 gamepad as sometimes it doesn't work. Had to use keyboard as car handles better. Old bugs still present like being unable to select Ultra for shadows and unable to select high dsp effect under openAL.

Still a cool game.
Those are addressed in the patch I believe.

PS: lol at Kingston Hypermax
DCult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-07, 05:22 PM   #4
JaylumX
Something Else
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somewhere Else
Posts: 374
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCult
Those are addressed in the patch I believe.

PS: lol at Kingston Hypermax
No they were not fella. They are still there
__________________
Half the fun is discovering it yourself

i5 760 @ 4.0 | P7P55D-E | 8GB DDR3 | 60 & 120GB SSD - 1TB SATA 2 | HD 7950 @ 1200/6300 | HDAV 1.3 | HD598

Xbox 360 120GB | PS3 40GB | Wii 8GB | Sony KDL-32EX723BU
JaylumX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-07, 05:41 PM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

demo handles perfectly fine for me.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-07, 05:52 PM   #6
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

I just hate the starforce protection in the game
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-07, 06:40 PM   #7
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,867
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

I found the steering controls were too sensitive in the demo.

The graphics are top notch and the medium setting makes a GeForce 8800 GTX huff and puff at 2650x1600.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 05:42 AM   #8
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Whats up with this game. 20 - 40 FPS with a 8800GTX in 1680*1050.
Runs like crap.

Everywon screems unoptimized yeah it must, its unplayable.Codemasters WTF have you been doing.
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-07, 05:52 AM   #9
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Its a ****ty 360 port thats why.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 05:56 AM   #10
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHazZarD
Its a ****ty 360 port thats why.
I was afraid of that to
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 06:49 AM   #11
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

The buggy race in the demo was unplayable on my system at any settings (same on my brother's computer). The other race was decent but still left a lot to be desired.

My brother and I were both really looking forward to this but until they make it not run like pure ass, we're not buying it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 07:38 AM   #12
pg_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
The buggy race in the demo was unplayable on my system at any settings
no wonder with that CPU
your 8800GTX is only running at half the speed
buy a C2D and overclock it and you have doubled the FPS right away.
__________________
C2D E4300 3.5GHz WaterCooled |Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 | Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2 2048MB CL5 | Corsair HX 520W |
BFG 8800Ultra OC WaterCooled
pg_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.