Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-09, 08:00 AM   #1
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com...king_(GTX_275)

I'll be the first to admit that some of these results even surprised me. Most notably the differences between the GTX 275 896 and 1798 card. For the most part at the super high resolutions theres very little differences, Sometimes the 275 pulls ahead with memory. But some of the time the higher density memory loses out due to latency.

I'm actually trying to find out if there might be a reasoning for this. Though I speculate 896 megs of memory just isn't terribly limiting right now. And my own testing seems to show this. ((exception being Crysis @ 2560x1600 @ 8xMS)).

Not trying to discourage or persuade anyone from making a choice here. But I this is the first time I have seen tests like this. I am sure with SLI the extra memory will be put it above the 295 setup. But how much is the question.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 11:04 AM   #2
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Chris that link is broken or wrong.

There is currently no text in this page, you can search for this page title in other pages or edit this page.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 12:11 PM   #3
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Seems to be working fine for me ?
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 12:48 PM   #4
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Now it is before it was just an empty page?
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 02:19 PM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

I went for the 1798 card simply to give myself as much time before having to upgrade as possible. Right now I game on 1680x1050 but very soon i am going to grab a 24inch.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 12:16 AM   #6
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
I went for the 1798 card simply to give myself as much time before having to upgrade as possible. Right now I game on 1680x1050 but very soon i am going to grab a 24inch.
Isn't that a dual GPU card? Don't they have similair issues to SLI when it first came out and even currently?

I am a big fan of single GPU.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 02:08 AM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

I dont think so. Generally i think its same as normal 275 but more memory.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 02:26 AM   #8
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Ya, I'll have to do some research on that. It always confused me a bit.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-06-09, 02:50 AM   #9
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/evga-g...1792mb-review/
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 06:31 AM   #10
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

I went with the 896 card beause I'm a cheap ass and also it should be plenty.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 06:54 AM   #11
Thunderbolt56
Gladiusdoctori
 
Thunderbolt56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 198
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

The 1GB card should be the sweet spot right now as I'm flying a new sim called Rise of Flight (WWI combat sim) and you can't run it in highest detail unless you have at least 1GB of frame buffer on your GPU. I run it at 1920x1200 and with my previous card (8800GTS 512) it ran pretty well, but at these resolutions, and with the eye-candy options available now, you may wany as much VRAM as you can get over the next 12 months.

Just saying.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz w/ Thermalright TRUE copper and dual 120mm fans | P6T Deluxe V2 | 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600mhz @ 1523mhz | WD VRaptor 300GB | Seagate 500GB 32mb cache | X-Fi-Titanium Fatal1ty Champion | XFX GTX285 Black Edition 1GB | CoolerMaster Stacker 830 silver | Dell 2707WFP 27" | Windows Vista HP x64 sp2
Thunderbolt56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 08:16 AM   #12
gstanford
Registered User
 
gstanford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 799
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

It doesn't really suprise me that 2gb of memory on current cards isn't really showing a benefit this generation, that is why I'm currently holding onto my GTX280's and waiting for next gen rather than getting a couple of GTX285 2gb cards.

In my case it wouldn't just be for plain old highres support, I'd like to be able to use some of the combined AA modes at highres and still keep good performance.

Also if you have benchmarked crysis at 1920x1200 or 2560x1600 you can see by the numbers that (using AA + best rendering mode) at times the game wants to use upwards of 1.7gb of video memory at times. Little wonder performance has yet to be maxxed out for this game this generation

I also wonder how much the drivers have to do with the situation (especially for things like AA etc), it could well be the driver just isn't well optimized for exploiting the extra memory very well since it is non standard.
__________________

Primary rig:
CPU: Intel i7 2600K
Cooler: Cooler MAster Hyper 212+
Motherboard Asrock z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8gb Corsair DDR-3 1333
Video: 2x Galaxy GTX 670 reference 2gb
PhysX: Gainward GTX 460 SE 1gb
Video Capture: Compro E-700 DVB-T PCI-e
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Monitor: Samsung 305T 30"
Case: Coolermaster stacker 830
Hard drives: 5x 500gb seagate SATA (non raid)
Burner: Samsung SH-S18L
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
MS Sidewinder Joystick
Logitech G25 wheel
Logitech 5.1 speaker system
gstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.