Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-09, 03:40 PM   #1
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,969
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Using SAS drivers

Getting some free SAS drives soon 74 gig ech.

I know their might be better options out their for an OS setup but these aren't costing me any so what would be good to use the drives?

I as thinking of getting a highpoint raid card pciX for 130 bucks and stripe all 4 drives for very fast performance or 2 drives but how good will it be compared to raptors or standard 7200 rpm drives?
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 11:10 PM   #2
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: Using SAS drivers

Not a good idea
typically its low on cache memory so you are better off with getting a separate cards that allows you to add cache memory but this makes for an expensive disk storage system. SAS drives come in 3.5" and 2.5" sizes and are available in faster spindle speeds up to 15k. The 15k SAS drive are going to be the fastest mechanical drive you can get but may be a bit loud in some cases and typically run hot thus requiring some additional cooling considerations - especially if multiple drives are used in an array. The interesting thing about SAS (and SCSI) is that a these drives can execute multiple I/O requests in the space of a single revolution of the platter while SATA can not (although NCQ attempts to improve on this a little). This paralellsm is really SAS's big performance feature so if your need to your drive to perform 5 I/Os for some reason, and the position of the drive head is in a location that can fulfill the I/O request, then you could conceivable get all 5 of those I/Os done in one turn of revolution of the patter, grabbing those 5 pieces of data much faster than SATA. With SATA it would require 5 revolutions. This makes a big difference in servers which are responding to heavy random Disk I/O such as that of a database, busy file server, or now Virtual servers where multiple virtual server disks reside on 1 physical disk (or array). In fact SAS (or SCSI) disks in arrays are pretty much the norm in these examples.

This said, SAS is most certainly overkill for a home PC and with the cooling and overall noise considerations I would probably pass on it.

Better off with two SSD drives instead, sell the SAS drives and use the money for SSD's
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 11:27 PM   #3
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,969
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Using SAS drivers

I may do just that and se what i can get for them off of Craigs or Ebay or find some junky who wants speed cuz of what they are.

The drives im getting are worth about 3 bills so will see what i can get.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 11:32 PM   #4
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: Using SAS drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman View Post
Getting some free SAS drives soon 74 gig ech.

I know their might be better options out their for an OS setup but these aren't costing me any so what would be good to use the drives?

I as thinking of getting a highpoint raid card pciX for 130 bucks and stripe all 4 drives for very fast performance or 2 drives but how good will it be compared to raptors or standard 7200 rpm drives?
Card is junk, you would have to spend at lease $550 and up to get a decent SAS controller with as more cache memory, cheap controller won't cut it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-09, 12:01 AM   #5
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,969
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Using SAS drivers

They pulled the sas controllers on the newer asus boards due to cost and caused unstable isues for some reason.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.