Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-09, 05:46 AM   #1
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default MKV in MPC = No Subtitles

Hey.

Well, I've been trying to get subs to work in MPC, but with MKV files its a no go. I've tried vista codec pack and I'm now with CCCP. And I still can't get subs to show. And the annoying thing is that they show on my laptop (with win xp pro).

I'm on win7 rc now, but it simply won't show subtitles. Help?
__________________
i5 2500K - Asus Maximus IV Extreme - 8Gb Corsair Platinum @ 2133MHz - GTX 680 - WD Velociraptor 300Gb + WD Black 1Tb - OCZ Vertex 2 90Gb - TT ToughPower 850W - Corsair 800D
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-09, 08:38 AM   #2
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: MKV in MPC = No Subtitles

Quote:
Originally Posted by H3avyM3tal View Post
Hey.

Well, I've been trying to get subs to work in MPC, but with MKV files its a no go. I've tried vista codec pack and I'm now with CCCP. And I still can't get subs to show. And the annoying thing is that they show on my laptop (with win xp pro).

I'm on win7 rc now, but it simply won't show subtitles. Help?
Just download directVobSub and your problems should go away. Remember that the subtitles' name must match that of the movie.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-09, 09:13 AM   #3
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: MKV in MPC = No Subtitles

That didn't work! What am I doing wrong? Subs show that they are on, but they still don't show up. They are soft coded in the mkv file...

Edit:
I installed FFDShow and all is well!

Thanks for trying to help
__________________
i5 2500K - Asus Maximus IV Extreme - 8Gb Corsair Platinum @ 2133MHz - GTX 680 - WD Velociraptor 300Gb + WD Black 1Tb - OCZ Vertex 2 90Gb - TT ToughPower 850W - Corsair 800D
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-09, 09:50 AM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: MKV in MPC = No Subtitles

I had this issue also... let me remember how I fixed it, lol.

Try downloading the codec direct from the source...
http://matroska.org/downloads/windows.html

BTW, I recently started using WMP11 for most of my watching... its become alot better then MPC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-09, 10:17 PM   #5
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: MKV in MPC = No Subtitles

External/Soft subs can't be rendered in DXVA mode (Only hardcoded), go to options internal filters uncheck H264/AVC DXVA , then it will be playd without DXVA but with subs.

This is assuming your using MPC HomeCinema

For Vista/W7 playback -> Output ( should be set at EVR (Vista/.Net3) for best results.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.