Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-09, 06:57 PM   #1
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

You know, the inability to edit stuff in there like you could with Vista?
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-09, 07:06 PM   #2
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
You know, the inability to edit stuff in there like you could with Vista?
neg.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-09, 07:25 PM   #3
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

#$^@*&!
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-09, 08:15 PM   #4
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

I think Microsoft has got lazy....
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 07:08 AM   #5
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

What are you trying to edit? I don't even use that game folder, what's the benefit?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 08:02 AM   #6
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

For example, you could edit shortcuts to the games. You could modify Crysis to run in DX9 mode instead of the default one. (which defaults to Dx10). The GE in Vista offered the capability to change these stuff. Unfortunately W7 doesn't...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 08:46 AM   #7
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

Since all new games install in there and usually not on the desktop, I started using it as it was intended. I think you could edit or add the box art too.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 10:23 AM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

Add all shortcuts to Steam.

/thread

ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-18-09, 10:46 AM   #9
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

Steam is the new standard, resistance is futile.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 11:45 AM   #10
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

All your games are belong to steam cloud. (one day)
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 11:57 AM   #11
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

OK I see what you mean about not being able to edit them. Not all the games install to that games folder though. Sims 3 for instance didn't install there for me. I just have another toolbar on the taskbar for games and launch them from there and some of my most played I have on the taskbar as buttons for quick access. The games folder does nothing for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 03:12 PM   #12
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?

Games Explorer should be removed, or actually uninstall it. It has no value. It's just crap.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.