Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-09, 01:38 AM   #1
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default monitor kaput

my viewsonic just died today, it was primary used with the server.

second monitor to die within a year preriod.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 01:48 AM   #2
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,958
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: monitor kaput

could be overclting through vga or dvi connector?

Or powersupply on it but its hard to tell.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 01:55 AM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: monitor kaput

My brother and I recently replaced a few capacitors in his old viewsonic 19" LCD. I guess bad caps are one of the more common issues with older LCDs.

Basically, the screen would go into stand by mode when he turned the screen on after the PC was on. If he left it turned on and rebooted it would usually work for a very long time with no problems (though some times it would screw up after a reboot or even a resolution change). Since replacing the caps it has worked fine.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 02:00 AM   #4
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
My brother and I recently replaced a few capacitors in his old viewsonic 19" LCD. I guess bad caps are one of the more common issues with older LCDs.

Basically, the screen would go into stand by mode when he turned the screen on after the PC was on. If he left it turned on and rebooted it would usually work for a very long time with no problems (though some times it would screw up after a reboot or even a resolution change). Since replacing the caps it has worked fine.
Awwwwww
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 02:03 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
My brother and I recently replaced a few capacitors in his old viewsonic 19" LCD. I guess bad caps are one of the more common issues with older LCDs.

Basically, the screen would go into stand by mode when he turned the screen on after the PC was on. If he left it turned on and rebooted it would usually work for a very long time with no problems (though some times it would screw up after a reboot or even a resolution change). Since replacing the caps it has worked fine.
monitor basically cycles, on-off-on-off-on-off etc... it stays on for half a second
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 11:29 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
monitor basically cycles, on-off-on-off-on-off etc... it stays on for half a second
Its probably the caps.

If you care about fixing it (and know how to solder), you could probably find instructions explaining how to do it online and the caps would only cost a few dollars.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 11:36 AM   #7
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: monitor kaput

My 2405 just took a dump last week I ended up replacing it with a Dell S240W http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...s=19&c=us&l=en

Its not a bad LCD.....games look great
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 01:18 PM   #8
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
My 2405 just took a dump last week I ended up replacing it with a Dell S240W http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...s=19&c=us&l=en

Its not a bad LCD.....games look great
that one looks good. Dell LCDs are SHARP brand?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-20-09, 01:35 PM   #9
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
that one looks good. Dell LCDs are SHARP brand?
I'm not sure...I thought they where LG.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 01:53 PM   #10
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
I'm not sure...I thought they where LG.
Thats what I thought. LG or SHARP.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 02:09 PM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
My 2405 just took a dump last week I ended up replacing it with a Dell S240W http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...s=19&c=us&l=en

Its not a bad LCD.....games look great
why did you go down to 16:9, you lost a bit of desktop space.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 03:16 PM   #12
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
why did you go down to 16:9, you lost a bit of desktop space.
I'm getting better fps in games with not much sacrifice in image quality.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.