Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-09, 05:39 PM   #13
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: monitor kaput





two caps are bulging
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 07:05 PM   #14
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
monitor basically cycles, on-off-on-off-on-off etc... it stays on for half a second
Bad capacitors sound like, just crack it open and look at the powersupply and look at 6.3v caps, if it is only cost 89 cents per cap, you can buy them at this site.

http://www.alliedelec.com/Default.aspx
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 07:06 PM   #15
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post




two caps are bulging
Knew it was that, the two by the voltage regulator.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 07:49 PM   #16
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigOne View Post
Knew it was that, the two by the voltage regulator.
two in the middle picture?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-09, 08:08 PM   #17
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
two in the middle picture?
Yep the two in the middle picture are bad they are cheap and easy to get, just order though the site below, just look at the value on side of the cap.
http://www.alliedelec.com/Actives-an...es/Capacitors/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 04:09 PM   #18
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: monitor kaput

it says on them 470uf25v

so any of these would work?
http://www.alliedelec.com/Actives-an...989+4294827632

is one brand better then other? what would you recommend?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 04:36 PM   #19
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
it says on them 470uf25v

so any of these would work?
http://www.alliedelec.com/Actives-an...989+4294827632

is one brand better then other? what would you recommend?
It will work go with the cornell dubilier little more money they last longer, never had any problems with those, don't turn on the monitor anymore you will burn out the voltage regulator.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 05:47 PM   #20
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: monitor kaput

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigOne View Post
It will work go with the cornell dubilier little more money they last longer, never had any problems with those, don't turn on the monitor anymore you will burn out the voltage regulator.
which one? there is 5 of them
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-09, 05:52 PM   #21
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: monitor kaput

This one will work

http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/Pro...PN=SK471M025ST
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-09, 01:41 AM   #22
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: monitor kaput

thanks bigone, placed the order 2 days ago, hope it gets here soon.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-09, 02:05 AM   #23
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: monitor kaput

Heh, I knew it.

Hopefully that does it for you.

I recommend getting some desoldering braid if you don't already have some. That stuff made the job a whole lot easier when I did it. Still, if you don't have a lot of soldering experience, it will be tricky.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-09, 02:07 AM   #24
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: monitor kaput

i did some soldering before, on few of these
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...&modelid=15710

so i should be fine
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.