Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-09, 01:39 PM   #13
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: GFWL - exceeded key usage. MS's DRM in your DRM infected PC Games

Maybe the new version coming out later this summer will introduce the ability to revoke activations/installs. Only time will tell, I guess.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 03:13 PM   #14
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: GFWL - exceeded key usage. MS's DRM in your DRM infected PC Games

Why don't they just associate keys with usernames in GFWL? Then you can give 2 associations so the game can be played by up to 2 usernames, with one online at a time.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 03:20 PM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: GFWL - exceeded key usage. MS's DRM in your DRM infected PC Games

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAY16 View Post
GFWL keys are currently stored client-side in your AppData folder. So long as you don't format/reinstall windows or delete the GFW AppData folder you shouldn't have to enter the key on subsequent installs.

However, I believe GFWL version 3 due out later this summer will actually tie keys to your account server-side. No word on if this change will be retroactive or if it'll only apply to games released after the update becomes available.
that is true

keys are stored in this folder
C:\Users\<<<User_name>>>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\X Live\Titles

key is encrypted in Token.bin file, delete the file and game will ask you agan for CD-Key when you try to connect to live.

as long as you don't reinstall every month you will be fine. you can reinstall the game on the same PC as many times as you want, as long as that token.bin matches your windows installation. When Token.bin is present and is valid, game or live will not ask for the cd-key again.

I had Flatout Ultimate Carnage retail, then I bought Flatout Ultimate Carnage on steam. Uninstalled the retail version, and ran the steam version, LIVE never asked for CD-Key, because it was still using the Token.bin from the retail version. Then I deleted the token.bin file ran the steam verison again and entered the Steam CD-Key.

Retail copy I gave to a friend, and he installed it with no trouble.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 03:21 PM   #16
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: GFWL - exceeded key usage. MS's DRM in your DRM infected PC Games

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Why don't they just associate keys with usernames in GFWL? Then you can give 2 associations so the game can be played by up to 2 usernames, with one online at a time.
the way it is set up right now, you just delete the token.bin and you can sell the game. If they associate the key with username, it will be like steam, you are stuck with it.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 04:21 PM   #17
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: GFWL - exceeded key usage. MS's DRM in your DRM infected PC Games

When I bought Gears of War for PC I entered the code and the game worked and all was well.

I got a new PC after that, and did NOT transfer any files over other than what I have on my backup drive, meaning music, videos and favorites. No game saves were transfered, nor game install files.

When I installed Gears of War on my new PC it did NOT ask me for the product key and it DID give me full access right away when I signed in to my Live profile.

So... I still don't see how this could be possible as a GFW Live problem, unless GTA4 uses a different method than Gears did.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 05:25 PM   #18
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: GFWL - exceeded key usage. MS's DRM in your DRM infected PC Games

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
So... I still don't see how this could be possible as a GFW Live problem, unless GTA4 uses a different method than Gears did.
Its definitely a GFWL problem (I was on the phone with both Rockstar and Microsoft today to get it sorted).

here, there are alot of people that have had this same issue with GTA IV
http://forums.gamesforwindows.com/t/3927.aspx

..and Fuel - http://community.codemasters.com/for...d.php?t=364068

..and Dawn of War 2 - http://www.quartertothree.com/game-t....php?p=1800766

..and GOW - http://gearsforums.epicgames.com/sho...d.php?t=607811

..and Fallout 3 - http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/7521/errorgl7.jpg, http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.p...9&postcount=22

..and Halo 2. So I guess those therories are all out the window...

here are a couple of general GFWL has activation limit post - http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=51974, http://forums.gamesforwindows.com/p/1805/13896.aspx
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-09, 07:30 PM   #19
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: GFWL - exceeded key usage. MS's DRM in your DRM infected PC Games

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Its definitely a GFWL problem.....
I can't even begin to tell you how I hate GFWL.

1 key issue with GoW, resolved by phone.

At least 4 account issues spanning weeks - told me my email and/or user name was in already in use when I would try to log in.

I have no GFWL games installed atm, haven't for a while. I just dread the day a game is released with that crap and I just have to have it.

Did I mention I hate GFWL?
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.