Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-09, 05:52 PM   #1
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

Hi,

I have had Vista 64bit installed on my PC for about a 2 years now. I really like Vista 64 bit, but there is an old game I wish to play again that I can not get to work under Vista ( NFS-PU ).

My question is can I install XP 32Bit SP3 as second OS to dual boot with Vista 64bit SP2?

If so is there a good web site explaining "how to" do it?

Thank You all for any help .

G.
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 07:35 PM   #2
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

im not 100% on this but im pretty sure you need to install xp first and then install vista.
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 10:21 PM   #3
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

Just get Windows 7 64 bit and run XP 32bit in the new virtual mode thing they have.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 06:59 AM   #4
Thunderbolt56
Gladiusdoctori
 
Thunderbolt56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 198
Default Re: Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

Yes you can dual boot the two. I'll look for the tutorial.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz w/ Thermalright TRUE copper and dual 120mm fans | P6T Deluxe V2 | 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600mhz @ 1523mhz | WD VRaptor 300GB | Seagate 500GB 32mb cache | X-Fi-Titanium Fatal1ty Champion | XFX GTX285 Black Edition 1GB | CoolerMaster Stacker 830 silver | Dell 2707WFP 27" | Windows Vista HP x64 sp2
Thunderbolt56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 01:07 PM   #5
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

you cant just resize one of your bootable drives with a 20gb partition and install it there?

Not on top of Vista? Does the boot manager not like it?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 02:00 PM   #6
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt56 View Post
Yes you can dual boot the two. I'll look for the tutorial.
Thank you for confirming that I can Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit.

I just needed the comformation that it was possible before I try it .

I found a tutoral on how to do it - http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_v...ide.htm?page=1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan View Post
Just get Windows 7 64 bit and run XP 32bit in the new virtual mode thing they have.
I do not have W7, but I will look into this. Thank You .
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 10:43 PM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by supra View Post
im not 100% on this but im pretty sure you need to install xp first and then install vista.
If it's on the same drive, then yes. XP has this amazing feature that automatically overwrites the boot sector on your master drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan View Post
Just get Windows 7 64 bit and run XP 32bit in the new virtual mode thing they have.
Can you play games in the XP Virtualization mode?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 07:01 AM   #8
Thunderbolt56
Gladiusdoctori
 
Thunderbolt56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 198
Default Re: Can I Dual boot Vista 64bit and XP 32bit?

I just took the plunge and went Vista x64 from XP Pro sp3 and things have been running really well, but I have a few buddies, one who has Win7 x64, Vista x64, and XP Pro in triple-boot setup and another who has Vista x64 Home Premium and XP Pro sp3 setup.

It can certainly be done.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz w/ Thermalright TRUE copper and dual 120mm fans | P6T Deluxe V2 | 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600mhz @ 1523mhz | WD VRaptor 300GB | Seagate 500GB 32mb cache | X-Fi-Titanium Fatal1ty Champion | XFX GTX285 Black Edition 1GB | CoolerMaster Stacker 830 silver | Dell 2707WFP 27" | Windows Vista HP x64 sp2
Thunderbolt56 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.