Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-09, 11:55 PM   #13
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
+1

I dont have to be online when i want to play SP or LAN. (well, SP in worst cases..)
well now you have to

if they would do this properly, they could kill piracy, where online server would be required to verify game content, and part of game would be online, not present on the disc.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-09, 12:25 AM   #14
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

As always .... its not gonna work.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-09, 01:02 AM   #15
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
well now you have to

if they would do this properly, they could kill piracy, where online server would be required to verify game content, and part of game would be online, not present on the disc.
wont matter. There are always ways arround it.

cod4, where multiplayer is great, u need a key, u cant get past that so u HAVE to buy the game. i know its different to consoles where even if u have a hacked xbox u can still play online, but in the pc side u can't do that. the only down side is not all games can have multiplayer...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-09, 01:14 AM   #16
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Yeah, it probably won't eliminate piracy, but what... should we stop trying? Just say "well screw it, everyone can have it"? I don't blame these companies for trying new and various anti-piracy techniques... EA seems to realize SecuROM sucked, and now are trying something else.

Personally I think it is a damn good thing they are actually trying to figure out how to keep PC profitable, since it shows they have interest in the platform. Ubisoft saying screw it and releasing everything with no DRM at all is more worrying to me.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-09, 01:25 AM   #17
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Yeah, it probably won't eliminate piracy, but what... should we stop trying? Just say "well screw it, everyone can have it"? I don't blame these companies for trying new and various anti-piracy techniques... EA seems to realize SecuROM sucked, and now are trying something else.

Personally I think it is a damn good thing they are actually trying to figure out how to keep PC profitable, since it shows they have interest in the platform. Ubisoft saying screw it and releasing everything with no DRM at all is more worrying to me.
I find it more worrying that Ubisoft actually does give away their games for free... all of them... when they're still $50 at retail.

Video card manufacturers practically use Ubisoft games as packing material these days.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-09, 01:39 AM   #18
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Yeah, it probably won't eliminate piracy, but what... should we stop trying? Just say "well screw it, everyone can have it"? I don't blame these companies for trying new and various anti-piracy techniques... EA seems to realize SecuROM sucked, and now are trying something else.

Personally I think it is a damn good thing they are actually trying to figure out how to keep PC profitable, since it shows they have interest in the platform. Ubisoft saying screw it and releasing everything with no DRM at all is more worrying to me.
if done properly it could.

1) hardcode in game that net connection is required, really deep in code
2) host file check, to make sure there is no some weird redirection
3) store 1-2% of critical game files on the server, and are downloaded in encrypted form into the system ram, never touching the hdd.

this would help
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-09, 01:56 AM   #19
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
if done properly it could.

1) hardcode in game that net connection is required, really deep in code
2) host file check, to make sure there is no some weird redirection
3) store 1-2% of critical game files on the server, and are downloaded in encrypted form into the system ram, never touching the hdd.

this would help
I would only go for that if it was removed after the game had been out for a few months and the devs promised (before the game was even released) to remove it.

It would definitely stop the vast majority of the pirates since they'd have to wait so long to get it.

After the first few months though, I want the game I paid for to be mine... internet connection or not.

I don't know about anyone else, but I've always been concerned about a situation where for some reason there is no internet for an extended period of time (due to a national security issue, economic issue etc.). If all of my games and programs could be rendered completely worthless by DRM, it'd just make the whole thing (world war III, global economic collapse... etc) even worse.

Imagine, you finally have all the time in the world to play games but you are unable to play them because there is no internet.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-09, 02:01 AM   #20
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
it'd just make the whole thing (world war III, global economic collapse... etc) even worse.
trust me if something like that would happen, you would worry where your meal is coming from, and not worry about your next mission in C&C.

I would say removing that after a year would be reasonable.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-09, 02:56 AM   #21
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

I definately worry with this kind of system about whether I will be able to play the game in 10 years. Most people here have probably played an old PC game they love 10 year later... that's a pretty common occurence for me actually. I am playing Under a Killing Moon right now.

Unfortunately, people have shown that the mass market doesn't care that much. Most people only play new games and then move on... for them, not playing C&C4 in 10 years is like "so what." Look at MMOs... no one can ever play Tabula Rasa again, which to me as a single-player gamer is insanity.

That said, I would bet this is something that will be patched out of the game at some point, they just don't want to say so for fear of pirates with patience waiting it out. I would probably want to hear something to that effect before I felt really comfortable handing over $50 though. They said they would patch out SecuROM from RA3 and to my knowledge have not done so, other than the Steam version.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-09, 12:34 AM   #22
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

Name C&C4 and get early beta access in return
Quote:
EA is running a new contest, asking the community for sub-title recommendations, granting the top 10 submissions beta access.
http://contest.commandandconquer.com/

C&C4 The Return of Teh Bigman?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-09, 06:06 AM   #23
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

i hope they tweak the engine up, i would think by the time this is out gt300/at5xxx series will be up.

i want more special effects , cnc3 was pretty sweet when it came out.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-09, 06:33 AM   #24
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Command and Conquer 4 Trailer

As much as EA has shown they can F up a wet dream, they seem to keep trying to support the PC customer. In that case they deserve some praise, thanks EA!

I know of a couple other games that if they where the competition, they would have moved directly over to a console only release by now and for that I appreciate it.

It's easy for me to like this type of DRM over some type of local media key/lock/DRM because I have broadband. With all that I understand people with limited connection(s) or simply, just want to play LAN/SP only, this will be a major thorn or barrier to purchase.

However they are at least trying something different.

If you think about it and it's kind of funny. If you don't have a broadband connection, you're more likely to go out and purchase the game instead of downloading it.

I would hope EA would think about 56K customers and only have to auth, upon starting the game without sending larges packest back and forth thus making it a win-win situation.
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.