Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-08, 06:13 AM   #1
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Arrow Overheating and similar issues with GeForce GTX 280

Hey guys i Just got my gtx 280 and as soon as I start a Game like Crysis or Lost PLanet it starts to lag but te fps seems normal, and after a while the screen goes blank and crashes the System

Temperature is going about 86 under load Driver version 177,26

I got a

E6600
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
650 watt be Quiet Dark Power

Any ideas ?
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 06:21 AM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

temp could be an issue
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 06:43 AM   #3
Goran
Registered User
 
Goran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 121
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Temp should be ok as long it's under 110C. However, check so that the card is getting power from 2 separate 12v lines. Each 12v line is limited to 20 amps and this cards needs 40amps. You must use a 6-pin from line 1 and 8 pin from line 2 (example) and make sure the card does not share 12v from the motherboard!
Goran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 07:05 AM   #4
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goran View Post
Temp should be ok as long it's under 110C. However, check so that the card is getting power from 2 separate 12v lines. Each 12v line is limited to 20 amps and this cards needs 40amps. You must use a 6-pin from line 1 and 8 pin from line 2 (example) and make sure the card does not share 12v from the motherboard!
That is somthing i will look into after work ! thanks =)
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 09:12 AM   #5
spajdr
Registered User
 
spajdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 347
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Make sure you have good cooling inside case, i never got more then 76C when playing crysis or something other with AA, still it should not crash.
__________________
ASUS Rampage II GENE + Intel i7-920 @ 3.8 GHz + Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
6GB RAM OCZ Intel Extreme XMP 1600MHz / Gainward Geforce GTX470 SLI
1x30GB SSD OCZ Vertex Turbo (system) / 2x30GB SSD OCZ Vertex RAID 0 (games)
23.6" Acer GD245HQBID + 3D Vision / PSU Nexus RX-8500 850W / Asus OC STATION
spajdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 09:35 AM   #6
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goran View Post
Temp should be ok as long it's under 110C. However, check so that the card is getting power from 2 separate 12v lines. Each 12v line is limited to 20 amps and this cards needs 40amps. You must use a 6-pin from line 1 and 8 pin from line 2 (example) and make sure the card does not share 12v from the motherboard!
The 40A RECOMMENDED is for TOTAL system power usage. The GTX280 doesn't need 40A on it's own, that would be 480W for one card only! AFAIK, the power draw for this card is 30amps higher than a 8800GTX. I used to run my 8800GTX on a 480W PSU with 28A on the 12V... So a 30A total 12V+ PSU should be fine, depending on the rest of the hardware...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 10:23 AM   #7
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by spajdr View Post
Make sure you have good cooling inside case, i never got more then 76C when playing crysis or something other with AA, still it should not crash.
I have 2 big fans blowing on the card the temp just goes from 40 idle to 84 when i start a game =/
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 10:28 AM   #8
pizzaguy
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 115
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goran View Post
make sure the card does not share 12v from the motherboard!
I am willing to bet its his PSU causing the problem because of what you just mentioned. This is why I prefer a strong single 12v rail PSU as it takes out all the guess work of a multiple rail PSU.

He is most likely overloading one of the rails hence when he games the card needs power and its not getting it=shut down.
pizzaguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-08, 01:53 PM   #9
AMC_Duke
Mea Culpa
 
AMC_Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 331
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzaguy View Post
I am willing to bet its his PSU causing the problem because of what you just mentioned. This is why I prefer a strong single 12v rail PSU as it takes out all the guess work of a multiple rail PSU.

He is most likely overloading one of the rails hence when he games the card needs power and its not getting it=shut down.
I tryed it again with case open and a big fan in front but as soon as i launch a game the fan speeds up on full speed and reached up to 104 i think thats not normal

do you guys think overheating can hapen due to less power from the PSU too ?
AMC_Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 03:24 PM   #10
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

There might be lack of contact between cooler and GPU , maybe it was assembled poorly.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 04:10 PM   #11
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

104C...defiantly get a screw driver and try to tighten it....but gently...like give it a pat to see if its loose...104C is defiantly screwed up. 110C is dead zone.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-08, 04:26 PM   #12
G-Man
i can hit the g spot
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 274
Default Re: Just got my GTX 280 and some Problems

water cool that bitch!
__________________
Core i9 "Engineering Sample"
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.