Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-09, 05:58 PM   #1
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Acer Home Server

What ya think?

Atom powered, 4 internal HDDs + 1 eSATA, gigabit + 1 PCI-E for another network card.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...0home%20server
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-09, 06:17 PM   #2
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: Acer Home Server

Wonder if it supports raid 5 ? and is any faster then the the terastation? Got a TeraStation with 2tb, was planning on upgraded to 4x 2tb drives, already fill up the the 2tb, if it does support raid 5 going to pick one up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-09, 06:27 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Acer Home Server

not sure about hardware, but RAID5 is disabled in Windows Home Server OS, so you would need a new OS.

Need a bit of research to figure out if hardware can support RAID5
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-09, 06:38 PM   #4
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: Acer Home Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
not sure about hardware, but RAID5 is disabled in Windows Home Server OS, so you would need a new OS.

Need a bit of research to figure out if hardware can support RAID5
Just read that, well the OS is going to have to go, it use the Intel 945GC/ICH7, so assuming it does support raid 0,1,5 would make a nice and one of the fastest NAS system around. Going to have to read more on this guy.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-09, 06:41 PM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Acer Home Server

you sure about the Intel 945GC/ICH7? does 945 support eSATA?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-09, 06:57 PM   #6
TheBigOne
Taking over the universe
 
TheBigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 283
Default Re: Acer Home Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
you sure about the Intel 945GC/ICH7? does 945 support eSATA?
No I don't belive it does support raid. At lease I found out that my terastation live will support up to 8tb, that Acer only 7tb and no raid support, better to pass on it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
I battle this universe for 6.5 billion people, i don't need to babysit.
Main System
Asus P6T, Intel I7 965 extreme 3.2 ghz
12gb CORSAIR DDR3 1600
2X 256gb Samsung SSD Raid 0, 1x 1.5tb seagate
2x XFX 4890 Crossfire
Visiontek 650 TvTuner, Sound X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Samsung SH-S203N DVD-RW
OCZ ProXStream 1000w, Case Coolermaster HAF 932
swifttech 655 pump, Apogee GTZ Ci7, MCR220-QP,
ek-fc4890 x2 video waterblocks Antec vers elite disply
Sunbeam 4ch 20w fan controller

Mediacenter
MSI K9A2 Platinum, AMD 9950 X4 Phenom
8gb dominator 1066MHZ
2x500gb Western digital raid 0, 2x1tb Western digtal
1x EVGA 250 videocard
hauppuage 1600 TV Tuner, Creative X-FI
LG GBW-H20L Blu-ray, Silverstone 650w PSU
Netgear wifi a/b/g/n card
TheBigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-09, 07:33 PM   #7
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Acer Home Server

supposelly it does support 8TB

the way they counted 7tb, is 1tb (included) + 3x2TB = 7TB

if you replace the included disk, then you can get 8TB (and higher probably, when they make bigger HDDs)
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-09, 12:00 PM   #8
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Acer Home Server

Yea I did some research on this unit when I saw it on newegg. Price is great for sure according to the acer site it says 4tb max.


Still I was really considering this unit. I also am thinking of building one myself but with an add in raid controller. I just hate spending money right now until things pick in my business.

I love my zotac ion board thou, and want to replace my 775 server to save some money on power consumption with an atom based system.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-01-09, 09:09 PM   #9
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Acer Home Server

So for you guys who have home servers - Do you use it mainly for storage? Just hook it up to your network and access it?

Also, if I were to build one, do I need a dual CPU motherboard or can I use any parts? Do I need to use a Server OS?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-09, 10:31 PM   #10
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Acer Home Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearclaw View Post
So for you guys who have home servers - Do you use it mainly for storage? Just hook it up to your network and access it?

Also, if I were to build one, do I need a dual CPU motherboard or can I use any parts? Do I need to use a Server OS?
currently I use a home build AMD Phenon 9550 Quad, and server portion is mostly for storage.

Other uses include:
FTP server
torrent client
video render

it runs Server 2008 Enterprise OS from technet
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-09, 10:35 PM   #11
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Acer Home Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
AMD Phenon
Phenom.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-09, 10:38 PM   #12
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Acer Home Server

haha, i got two of them
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.