Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-09, 04:08 PM   #13
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

I haven't found the 896 ram on my 260s limiting @ 1920x1200. Then again I don't run massive amounts of AA. Would two 285s be faster than my overclocked 216s? Sure, and right now I don't feel it merits the investment.

Personally, I'd rather something like 1GB of fast vram vs 2Gb of slower ram. Often cards with a lot of ram have reduced clocks.

There probably will be more games in the future where higher amounts of vram are meaningful and by that time most of us will likely have new cards.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-09, 01:39 AM   #14
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanford View Post
It doesn't really suprise me that 2gb of memory on current cards isn't really showing a benefit this generation, that is why I'm currently holding onto my GTX280's and waiting for next gen rather than getting a couple of GTX285 2gb cards.

In my case it wouldn't just be for plain old highres support, I'd like to be able to use some of the combined AA modes at highres and still keep good performance.

Also if you have benchmarked crysis at 1920x1200 or 2560x1600 you can see by the numbers that (using AA + best rendering mode) at times the game wants to use upwards of 1.7gb of video memory at times. Little wonder performance has yet to be maxxed out for this game this generation

I also wonder how much the drivers have to do with the situation (especially for things like AA etc), it could well be the driver just isn't well optimized for exploiting the extra memory very well since it is non standard.
There could be other reasons for this. That past a certain resolution. The GPU Rops arent optimal.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-09, 01:43 AM   #15
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com..._(GTX_275_SLI)

They added a 275 SLI preview. The results arent that surprising as a 275 core is faster than a 295 core.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-09, 03:04 AM   #16
gstanford
Registered User
 
gstanford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 799
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay View Post
There could be other reasons for this. That past a certain resolution. The GPU Rops arent optimal.
I definitely agree there, hence my comment about not bothering with this generation of GPU's.
__________________

Primary rig:
CPU: Intel i7 2600K
Cooler: Cooler MAster Hyper 212+
Motherboard Asrock z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8gb Corsair DDR-3 1333
Video: 2x Galaxy GTX 670 reference 2gb
PhysX: Gainward GTX 460 SE 1gb
Video Capture: Compro E-700 DVB-T PCI-e
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Monitor: Samsung 305T 30"
Case: Coolermaster stacker 830
Hard drives: 5x 500gb seagate SATA (non raid)
Burner: Samsung SH-S18L
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
MS Sidewinder Joystick
Logitech G25 wheel
Logitech 5.1 speaker system
gstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-09, 05:11 AM   #17
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanford View Post
I definitely agree there, hence my comment about not bothering with this generation of GPU's.
I pretty much agree that 896/1 gig is where its at. I do have a sneaking suspicion that the GPU ROPS just werent built with resolutions beyond so many pixels in mind. Much like the Geforce 6, I havent gotten a specific answer regarding this. It may not be one of the things Nvidia is quick to reveal.

But judging from the performance drop offs despite the memory. It just seems suspiciously true to me.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-09, 05:36 AM   #18
gstanford
Registered User
 
gstanford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 799
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

I can't really remember with my 6800, but, 7900's sort of fell off a performance cliff around 1920x1xxx or just before IIRC.

I guess that the designers will target the most common high resolution out there, which would be 1920x1080/1920x1200 nowadays both in hardware and drivers and you can't blame them for that.

I've always been greedy for ram performance and size though - I like high res texture sets and exotic AA.
__________________

Primary rig:
CPU: Intel i7 2600K
Cooler: Cooler MAster Hyper 212+
Motherboard Asrock z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8gb Corsair DDR-3 1333
Video: 2x Galaxy GTX 670 reference 2gb
PhysX: Gainward GTX 460 SE 1gb
Video Capture: Compro E-700 DVB-T PCI-e
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Monitor: Samsung 305T 30"
Case: Coolermaster stacker 830
Hard drives: 5x 500gb seagate SATA (non raid)
Burner: Samsung SH-S18L
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
MS Sidewinder Joystick
Logitech G25 wheel
Logitech 5.1 speaker system
gstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-09, 08:21 AM   #19
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

After talking with Nvidia some on this issue. It does appear that 2560x1600 is one of the more optimal rendering resolutions for their cards, The triple head and high widescreen market has definately not been an internal focus. if I find out more I'll let you know. They are definately curious what the market is for this kind of thing.

I do see it come up a few times at SLIZONE. Just not very often.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-09, 01:02 PM   #20
gstanford
Registered User
 
gstanford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 799
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

I'd say the market is reasonable, but mostly limited to true enthusiast at present. Most others tend to do the big LCD/Plasma television as a monitor thing at the moment, which is really giving 1920x1080 a shot in the arm. The expense of a 30" monitor is also keeping interest down at present.

Plenty of framebuffer is definitely important to me though, as I said above and I hope 2gb cards are a solid option for the next-gen GPU's coming out (with 1gb cards also for those who don't see the point). With resolutions and texture size/quality on the rise, plus AA, plus potentially PhysX and maybe even CUDA/DX Compute all demanding their share in future games I can't see myself purchasing a new card with less than 2gb on it.
__________________

Primary rig:
CPU: Intel i7 2600K
Cooler: Cooler MAster Hyper 212+
Motherboard Asrock z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8gb Corsair DDR-3 1333
Video: 2x Galaxy GTX 670 reference 2gb
PhysX: Gainward GTX 460 SE 1gb
Video Capture: Compro E-700 DVB-T PCI-e
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Monitor: Samsung 305T 30"
Case: Coolermaster stacker 830
Hard drives: 5x 500gb seagate SATA (non raid)
Burner: Samsung SH-S18L
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
MS Sidewinder Joystick
Logitech G25 wheel
Logitech 5.1 speaker system
gstanford is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-12-09, 01:05 PM   #21
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

I know I won't get a monitor above 1920x1200, despite kind of wanting one, because I don't want to pay for the GPU I would need to run games at max at a super high res.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-09, 08:55 PM   #22
gstanford
Registered User
 
gstanford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 799
Default Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.

Both my 8800 GTX's and GTX280's (in SLI) have done quite well at supporting my monitor, better than I expected they would to be honest.

However, I firmly believe it is well past time we saw serious (not just chuck extra useless memory on the card) 2gb cards becoming available at the high end. Realistically they have been needed for a while.
__________________

Primary rig:
CPU: Intel i7 2600K
Cooler: Cooler MAster Hyper 212+
Motherboard Asrock z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8gb Corsair DDR-3 1333
Video: 2x Galaxy GTX 670 reference 2gb
PhysX: Gainward GTX 460 SE 1gb
Video Capture: Compro E-700 DVB-T PCI-e
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Monitor: Samsung 305T 30"
Case: Coolermaster stacker 830
Hard drives: 5x 500gb seagate SATA (non raid)
Burner: Samsung SH-S18L
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
MS Sidewinder Joystick
Logitech G25 wheel
Logitech 5.1 speaker system
gstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.