Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-09, 06:01 AM   #1
pissthpot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default hdmi no sound

I can see my computer GUI on the telly via hdmi but no sound comes out.

If I do aplay -D plughw:0,0 Noise.wav I hear it on the computer speakers.

If I do aplay -D plughw:0,1 Noise.wav I hear silence. No error messages from the computer.

I have alsa 1.0.20 and kernel 2.6.28. I have Gforce8400M gs inside a Hewlett Packard dv9820ea.

I have no .asound.conf in my home directory or in /etc but I have /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf.

When I use alsamixer it tells me I have a Conexant Hermosa so therefore I use the module snd-hda-codec-conexant, which is automatically loaded by snd-hda-intel

On the alsamixer screen it shows a master volume which is turned up and unmuted. It shows a column called pcm which has its volume turned up but cannot be muted or unmuted. It shows two columns for IEC958 which have no volume but are both unmuted.

Help would be appreciated
pissthpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 06:39 AM   #2
pissthpot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: hdmi no sound

Forgot to say nvidia driver 185.18.31
pissthpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-09, 12:08 AM   #3
_john_i_
gtx260/8200M G/DIY Linux
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 137
Default Re: hdmi no sound

What does "aplay -l" show on your system?

Mine displays this:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC1200 Analog [ALC1200 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC1200 Digital [ALC1200 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


I use device 0,3 which works over hdmi.

Also I have the module snd_hda_codec_nvhdmi loaded. Maybe you need this loaded? I probably have slightly different hardware, but maybe this will help.

lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_hda_codec_nvhdmi 3952 1
snd_hda_codec_si3054 5904 1
nvidia 10301096 44
snd_hda_codec_realtek 263380 1
rt2860sta 586188 1
snd_hda_intel 28360 2
snd_hda_codec 64016 4 snd_hda_codec_nvhdmi,snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_ codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
_john_i_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-09, 05:51 AM   #4
pissthpot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: hdmi no sound

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: CONEXANT Analog [CONEXANT Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0; NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: Conexant Digital [Conexant Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
pissthpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-09, 05:56 AM   #5
pissthpot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: hdmi no sound

BTW snd-hda-codec-nvhdmi makes no difference.
pissthpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-09, 01:39 PM   #6
seth_keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: hdmi no sound

I make this work with mplayer like so:

mplayer -ao alsa:device=hw=0.3 -channels 6 <filename.m2ts>

And with xine, I set the passthru device to: HDMI in ~/.xine/conf

I think aplay -D HDMI noise.wav should work, I think...
seth_keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 10:41 AM   #7
beytu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: hdmi no sound

Hi,

I also have the Conexant Hermosa chip with a NVidia 8400M GS and i have the same problem

I installed alsa 1.0.20, the nvidia 190.18.03 driver and unmutted all IEC958 things but still no sound throught HDMI.

Anyone having this hardware conf and managed to have sound throught HDMI ?
beytu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-09, 06:01 AM   #8
pissthpot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: hdmi no sound

I don't think this helps, but anyway:

I am using dual boot with W Vista and that works. Vista device manager says it is a Conexant High Definition Smart Audio 221. I opened the sound window in the device manager and there is an icon for speakers and one for SPDIF and none for HDMI. I made the SPDIF the default and the sound comes through the HDMI.

Maybe someone far cleverer than me gets a clue from this.
pissthpot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-09, 02:53 AM   #9
sherbey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Default Re: hdmi no sound

This post worked for me with jaunty on an acer aspire revo (ion chipset)


Note that I'm still struggling with flash sound, though there is a post on ubuntuforums that claims to fix this - I haven't had chance to try it yet
sherbey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.