Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-03, 03:42 PM   #1
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default adding second hard drive

i have a dell demension 8200 with an 80gb (factory installed) hard drive 7200rpm. today i came across an old computer ,ibm aptiva, which has a 3.2gb 5400 rpm ibm hard drive model "DAQA-33240". I know it is only a 3.2 gb hard drive but would it be possible to add this as a slave drive to my dell demension 8200? i want to add it as an extra drive for all my back up files( downloaded game installer's /other downloaded stuff/patches etc etc.) is it even possible to add a 5400 rpm hard drive to a system that already has a 7200 rpm hard drive as the master hard drive?is it possible to some how just connect this hard drive ( which i think has windows 95 OS on it and other data, the computer it came out of was dated 1995-1996..yes very old) just to see what is currently on it without erasing or having to partion it? when and or if i try to connect it to my current demension system what do i set the jumper to? choices are:device 0/device 1/ cable select/ spare/ disable write cache/spare/spare and is it ok to just connect it to the extra ide connection without unplugging my current ide connected factory installed hard drive? if i just plug it into the extra ide connection on my ide cable what do i set jumper on the ibm hard drive to? do i have to enter my bios for anything or do i just go into the 'disk managment" area? thanks for any help on this issue. i am not gonna install it untill i understand what i am doing and if it is worth doing.
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-03, 09:48 PM   #2
LbSoDB
aka Johnny Chimpo
 
LbSoDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mass
Posts: 5
Default

You currently have a nice big, fast drive. I dont think adding a small, slow drive is really worth it. But if you want to you can.
The jumper for the dell should be master or cable select.
If you just plug it into secondary ide on your mobo i think it will work with jumpers as they are.
You will have to enter the bios and and set secondary ide master to auto or user define. Auto should pick it up. Then just reboot.

I think thats all. Its not that hard to do.

Good luck
__________________
Miss Mantown Girls
LbSoDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-03, 05:03 PM   #3
TECH_PC
Registered User
 
TECH_PC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, IL - US
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to TECH_PC Send a message via Yahoo to TECH_PC
Default

Yeah, its very easy. I did the same thing, I put my old computers Hard Drive into my current computer's slave bay. Just make sure that the old Hard Drives jumper is set to either Cable Select or Slave.
__________________
Intel Celeron 1.30 Ghz
384 MB SDRAM
100 GB HD
42x16x42 CD-RW
ATI Radeon 7500 64 MB PCI -- Soon to be Visiontek Xtasy Radeon 9100 128 MB PCI
TECH_PC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-03, 06:34 AM   #4
Rampant CL
Lurking like a pro
 
Rampant CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Back on the beach for the summer
Posts: 351
Default

This is the 3rd or 4th post about adding / swapping hard drives. Maybe there should be a sticky for upgrading / swapping disks.
__________________
Barton 2500 | 7VAXP-A Ultra | 2GB DDR-400 | BFG 6800 GT OC | WD Caviar 120 GB | WD Caviar 180 GB SATA | SONY DRU-700 | SONY 16x40x DVD Drive | Buslogi SCSI Host Adaptor | SCSI Python Tape Archive | Red, Blue, UV Cathodes | UV Scorpion Window Etch | UV Lazer Led's | Plasma tube (inside the PC) | Triad of TriLight Case Fans | UV Green Sleeved 650W Achieve PSU

Folding for team nV News but this link doesnt work
Rampant CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-03, 10:13 AM   #5
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Just so you know, sometimes programs like to recognize the drive letter of your cd/dvd-rom, and Windows likes to bump them back a letter and make your new HDD the D: drive. To get around this, you can do this:

Go to your control panel. You should be the computer admin I would imagine, so there will be an Administrative Tools icon. Click it. Then open computer management. In there, click disk management under the storage portion of the tree. Then, right click the new drive, and click "Change Drive Letter and Paths." Then you can do the same for the optical drives.

This might not be necessary for you, but I know I've had to do it before.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fat32 hard drive size limit Kruno Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 8 10-08-02 07:22 PM
Hard Drive Cooling Iron1384 General Hardware 3 09-25-02 01:42 AM
could someone help me out with this new hard drive garry General Hardware 4 08-22-02 07:15 AM
hard drive light on case "dead"? Goofas General Hardware 7 08-13-02 09:14 PM
Good hard drive deal for those interested saturnotaku General Hardware 2 08-06-02 09:06 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.