Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Solaris

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-05, 05:16 PM   #1
etlpkby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy Solaris10 x86 using VMWare?

Hello!

I'm trying to get Solaris10 x86 running via VMWare (workstation5) on Linux FC3 platform.

Solaris installed OK and then installed cluster patches from SUN.

Downloaded and installed NVIDIA-Solaris-x86-1.0-7664.run OK. Problem is identifying the nvidia PCI card within vmware in order to do "update_drv" command. Here's the output of "scanpci" command :-
Quote:
pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x00 function 0x00: vendor 0x8086 device 0x7190
Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge

pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x01 function 0x00: vendor 0x8086 device 0x7191
Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge

pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x07 function 0x00: vendor 0x8086 device 0x7110
Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA

pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x07 function 0x01: vendor 0x8086 device 0x7111
Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE

pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x07 function 0x03: vendor 0x8086 device 0x7113
Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI

pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x0f function 0x00: vendor 0x15ad device 0x0405
VMWare Inc Device unknown

pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x10 function 0x00: vendor 0x1022 device 0x2000
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE]

pci bus 0x0000 cardnum 0x11 function 0x00: vendor 0x1274 device 0x1371
Ensoniq ES1371 [AudioPCI-97]
Am I trying something impossible here?

Has anyone got nvidia graphics working for Solaris within vmware?

Thanks,
Patrick/
etlpkby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-05, 06:50 AM   #2
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Solaris10 x86 using VMWare?

The NVIDIA graphics devices can't be driven from within a VMware virtual machine by the NVIDIA Solaris graphics driver (a custom graphics device is made available within VMware virtual machines, drivers are available from VMware (though possibly not for Solaris client machines)).
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-05, 07:34 AM   #3
etlpkby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Solaris10 x86 using VMWare?

Thanks. Thought I was being too optimistic

I've managed to get 1024x768 working using the vmware drivers. Basically I did the "kdmconfig" command and chose "Xsun" and not "Xorg". At least I managed to get a display. With Xorg it just fell over in a heap.

The resulting display is poor compared to my underlying system (Redhat FC3, AMD 64 3500+ CPU & Nividia Geforce6 6800GT card). But it's perfectly OK for what I want to do.

Patrick/
etlpkby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-05, 07:43 AM   #4
etlpkby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Solaris10 x86 using VMWare?

oh...just remembered and forgot to post in my comments above. You cannot install vmware tools via the VM->Install VMware Tools... menu. It won't let you on "guest operating" systems - only works for Microsoft installs

Any else thinking of installing Solaris10 within vmware will need to edit their *.vmx config file for Solaris10 and add the line paevm="TRUE" before you power-on.

Don't bother with Solaris9. I haven't got graphics working on that yet...I'm left in console mode at present

Patrick/
etlpkby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-05, 12:49 AM   #5
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Arrow Re: Solaris10 x86 using VMWare?

Quote:
Originally Posted by etlpkby
Am I trying something impossible here?
Unfortunately, yes, you are trying something that is impossible under Workstation 5.0.

The virtual machine's guest OS CANNOT recognize host's hardware, including your NVIDIA video card. The guest OS sees only the VMware SVGA virtual/emulated graphics card. Because of this, only the VMware video drivers (included in VMware Tools) are relevant to the guest OS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by etlpkby
You cannot install vmware tools via the VM->Install VMware Tools... menu. It won't let you on "guest operating" systems - only works for Microsoft installs
Actually this is not the case.

When you select "Install VMware Tools" from a menu in the Workstation/GSX/Remote console, in every guest OS a CDROM image is mounted with VMware Tools available. When a guest OS has no autorun, then you must launch the VMware Tools installer manually.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.

Last edited by ricercar; 09-04-05 at 02:31 AM. Reason: accuracy, brevity, and clarity
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-09, 02:27 PM   #6
msright1981
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Solaris10 x86 using VMWare?

Hi etlpkby,

I have to agree with the others, you can't setup the Nvidia card inside the virtual machine. Is there any particular reason you are trying this? I mean what kind of graphic thing are you trying to run in Solaris. I have always noticed the emulated VMware video driver is more the adequate for most purpose. I had seen a post as well which show a video of SUN Solaris 10 running on VMware Workstation where the graphics seems just fine. You might want to look at it Sun Solaris 10 running on VMware Workstation.

I hope that help.
msright1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.35 x86. Small gtk widgets are often diappear Natrio NVIDIA Linux 9 07-03-12 08:00 AM
Nvidia 173.14.35: Fedora 17 x86 terribly slow Mr Wolf NVIDIA Linux 25 07-02-12 01:44 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.