Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-09, 09:14 PM   #25
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

never heard of this...but i am still on Norton 09 and its doing a fine job.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 12:32 PM   #26
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Well, I don't know. I definitely had the force reboot on 3 different systems....don't know what to tell you guys. Unblocking avnotify.exe fixed that problem (but resulted in the popup again...)

Same problem I was having > http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r221...a-Home-Premium

Hmmm, after further researching, it is possible to fix my problem, I just wasn't limiting access enough.....oh well. I'm happy with norton. I haven't actually had a virus in quite some time (years) so I'm not too concerned about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shilk View Post
I don't think it's about the resources, but the detection rate. Although resources is a good as well — which Avira doesn't take as much of.

Out of the 16 AntiVirus softare they tested over at AVComparatives, Avira ranked 1st and Norton ranked 12th. And the ProActive tests weren't too far off. Avira (69%), Norton (35%).

But for what it's worth, Avira did have some false positives which gave it much lower scores. But hey, I'm not complaining for it being free. I'm not having any issues with the popup ads or anything after updating the definitions, nor do I have to restart. I just tested myself right now.
Well it is partly about the resources. I'd much rather run an AV that is fast and doesn't slow down my system even if it has a lower detection rate. There's nothing I hate more than some program bogging down my system while scanning.

Where did you pull that 1st/12th stat from? I just read the "On-demand comparative test" pdf on that AVComparatives website and AVIRA is 2nd and Norton is 4th (99.7% and 98.7% respectively). That isn't a whole heck of a lot of difference. And Norton is much faster and has fewer false positives. Your 69%/35% stat is correct regarding the proactive tests (1st for AVIRA, 8th for Norton). Anyways, I'm happy with Norton and don't feel like I "wasted" my money since a) it is doing it's job and b) it's doing it's job very efficiently.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 01:19 PM   #27
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

just get MS Security Essentials Beta. Free. No ads. Lightweight. Perfect.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 01:33 PM   #28
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 02:00 PM   #29
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Whoa, do you guys post as a team? Seems like they're not taking anymore applicants for the beta right now....

Quote:
Alert!

Thank you for your interest in joining the Microsoftฎ Security Essentials Beta. We are not accepting additional participants at this time. Please check back at a later date for possible additional availability.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 02:00 PM   #30
shilk
Registered User
 
shilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 913
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstein_314 View Post
Where did you pull that 1st/12th stat from? I just read the "On-demand comparative test" pdf on that AVComparatives website and AVIRA is 2nd and Norton is 4th (99.7% and 98.7% respectively). That isn't a whole heck of a lot of difference. And Norton is much faster and has fewer false positives. Your 69%/35% stat is correct regarding the proactive tests (1st for AVIRA, 8th for Norton). Anyways, I'm happy with Norton and don't feel like I "wasted" my money since a) it is doing it's job and b) it's doing it's job very efficiently.
It's on their site in pdf form. There's actually, two of them for seperate tests.

The on-demand tests are different as they test it with a "bed" of viruses. Any decent AV that has moderately updated definitions should be able to have a high detection rate. You're specifically forcing the AV to find that target or even suspect that there is an infected file.

I'm not going to shove the whole "Hey! USE AVIRA DAMNIT!" down your throat. If you're fine with Norton, then more power to ya.

EDIT: ROFL! Damnit Ein, you beat me to the punch, lol!
shilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 02:08 PM   #31
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstein_314 View Post
Whoa, do you guys post as a team? Seems like they're not taking anymore applicants for the beta right now....
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Antivir...sentials.shtml

I am running it now, pretty good.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-09, 05:26 AM   #32
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Firefox with the noscript add on is good for dealing with annoying things like pop ups. It also is good for restricting script activity on various sites.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-27-09, 06:03 AM   #33
shilk
Registered User
 
shilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 913
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

HNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGH!





Dude. The pop-ups are not browser related or anything.

The pop-ups come from the program itself. Not the browser, not anything else. Read the second post on the second page.
shilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-09, 06:59 AM   #34
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Avira updates really slowly for me, I have the pop-up disabled.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 03:12 AM   #35
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

You can enable the popup blocker in IE too.

*runs away*
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 07:43 AM   #36
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Avira Antivirus



I have had the pop up in Avira disabled for almost 2 weeks now and get an update every day with no problems at all. Glad I saw this thread.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ฉ1998 - 2014, nV News.