Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-09, 02:05 PM   #1
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

So I just checked my msdnaa account I got through joining the ieee on campus and it looks like they posted Windows 7 Professional. I already preordered home premium for my desktop but was thinking about putting an msdnaa copy on my laptop. It is a 2 year old compaq with a 1.8ghz athlon x2, 2 gb ram, and came with vista home premium 32 bit. If I go ahead and install W7 pro should I go with 32 bit again or 64? Would i have any compatibility issues with laptop hardware and 64 bit? Would I gain anything by going with 64 bit on my laptop? Thanks
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 02:13 PM   #2
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

With 2GB ram I think you'd be happier with the x86 version
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 12:01 AM   #3
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

Yeah, go with 32bit. Plus it's always handy to have 32bit on older laptops in case the manufacturer only releases 32bit drivers. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 01:30 AM   #4
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

Yea I also just remembered I could only get Xilinx to work under 32 bit so it will be nice if I need to do any more hardware programming I'll have the laptop if I need it.
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 09:29 AM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

I think they recommend 4GB of RAM for 64-bit. Go with 32-bit.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-09, 01:19 AM   #6
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

I would go with the 64bit. Afaik 64bit in no way means things are bigger or takes more resources, and in all case (provided its actually a good build) the 64bit one should perform better.

If you have a 64 bit cpu, dont hold it back with a 32bit os.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-09, 01:34 AM   #7
sharangad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 413
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmd View Post
I would go with the 64bit. Afaik 64bit in no way means things are bigger or takes more resources, and in all case (provided its actually a good build) the 64bit one should perform better.

If you have a 64 bit cpu, dont hold it back with a 32bit os.
x86-64 unlike other 64 bit architectures allows instructions to remain 32 bits wide (reduces code bloat) and allows an app to use a combination of 32 and 64 bit data reads per fetch ( reduces memory bloat).

Having said that I haven't seen even a single 64 bit app for x86-64 which is smaller or the same size as the 32 bit version. It's almost always larger, whether you're talking about a Linux distro or even Windows 7, the 64 bit version is always larger. In the case of Win 7 I don't know whether this is casused by the 64 bit version including some apps in both 32 and 64 bit flavours (i.e. IE and WMP). However it's always larger.

For instance Win 7 Pro 64 bit requires 20 GB of free disk space and Win 7 Pro 32 bit only requires 16 GB. 64 bit apps could run faster as there're twice as many registers as in 32 bit mode for 32 bit operations, but that doesn't necessarily mean that they will.
sharangad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-09, 02:16 AM   #8
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,873
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

Just remember this: Although 64-bit code can use more memory faster, it always uses more memory nonetheless.

Keep that in mind with a system with a lot of memory vs a system with not much memory at all. Less than 3GB, always 32-bit. More than 4GB, always 64-bit. Anything in between is anybody's guess.
Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-22-09, 10:09 PM   #9
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: 32 or 64 bit for my Laptop?

^ Just to add to the "in between" comment. My laptop has 3gb of ram, and I have ran both 32bit and 64bit builds of Windows 7 on it and there was no noticeable difference in performance either way.
__________________
P6T Deluxe V2 ||| Core i7 920 D0 4.0Ghz||| 3x2Gb DDR3-1800 ||| 2x EVGA GTX 260 SLI ||| Corsair HX850w ||| 2x640gb HD
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.