Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-09, 03:59 AM   #145
Chesskid1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

i guess, apparently, it's floating around on the internet already 2 weeks early. gonna be a long wait to retail
Chesskid1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 12:47 PM   #146
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chesskid1 View Post
i guess, apparently, it's floating around on the internet already 2 weeks early. gonna be a long wait to retail
Yes it is,but it's a broken version thankfully.The programmers put all kinds of triggers in the code to thwart would-be pirates.(everyone is posting they are stuck at level 2 or some shiat like that:P)The wait is killing me too.
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 01:35 PM   #147
adamove
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 77
Smile Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

i mean what is so amazing about this game? batman? are 13 years old? or from USA?
adamove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 01:38 PM   #148
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamove View Post
i mean what is so amazing about this game? batman? are 13 years old? or from USA?
Whats wrong with the great U.S.A.?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 02:02 PM   #149
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

I will be waiting for the pc version of this game!

DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 02:32 PM   #150
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

these effects do improve the atmosphere of the game
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 03:14 PM   #151
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

and they aren't over done saying "Look at me Physx" while have of the building falls down.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 02:31 AM   #152
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
I bet these effects were ommited by Nvidias request to help them sell graphics cards... None of the effects are so demanding that they couldn't have been done without physx.

It's the same thing that was around with Mirrors Edge, it brought nothing new but retards got all excited thinking it was the first time it was possible and only possible with that specific hardware.
I believe benchmark sites were able to enable Physx effects on non-physx hardware in Mirrors Edge. From what I saw, with those same effects run on the CPU, performance tanked. I've also read that you can still enable PhysX effects in Batman without cuda capable hardware. We'll see if those effects could have been done on the CPU then.

There also seems be huge miss information about PhysX as well not only here but elsewhere. PhysX is a software API, it is CUDA on Nvidia that drives it on their GPU hardware. Without which, the same physics simply runs on the CPU.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-09, 05:18 AM   #153
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by fivefeet8 View Post
There also seems be huge miss information about PhysX as well not only here but elsewhere. PhysX is a software API, it is CUDA on Nvidia that drives it on their GPU hardware. Without which, the same physics simply runs on the CPU.
That is exactly right, it's like Havok. It'll run on any system, it's just Nvidia has the ability to let it's hardware take over the calculations.

I swear, some people here would :: if they took the time to see how many console games sport the Physx logo in the fine print.

I personally always found Havok to be the better solution, but it's lagging with the cloth effects ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 07:31 AM   #154
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by fivefeet8 View Post
I believe benchmark sites were able to enable Physx effects on non-physx hardware in Mirrors Edge. From what I saw, with those same effects run on the CPU, performance tanked. I've also read that you can still enable PhysX effects in Batman without cuda capable hardware. We'll see if those effects could have been done on the CPU then.

There also seems be huge miss information about PhysX as well not only here but elsewhere. PhysX is a software API, it is CUDA on Nvidia that drives it on their GPU hardware. Without which, the same physics simply runs on the CPU.
Yes Physx is a software API but it almost used with hardwre requirements on the PC. Prior to Nvidias purchase of the company you needed their accelorator. Have you forgotten that ****ty addon card that no one bought but was required to get the UT3 Physx map? It runs crappy on non accelorated platforms because its not optimized for general cpus.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 03:41 PM   #155
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

great game I just beat it took me about 14/16 hours on xbox my friend let me use it
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 05:05 PM   #156
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATi View Post
great game I just beat it took me about 14/16 hours on xbox my friend let me use it
Im only 6 hours into the game.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.