Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-09, 02:12 AM   #97
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Hunt View Post
Good choice. Another good reason is because you don't have to wait an eternity to play it. Man... console gamers ROOL!
Even if it came out the same day as the PS3 version you would have beaten the game before I got around to installing it.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 04:07 AM   #98
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
and that is true, while others say they are getting console version for gamepad support. which makes no sence since with PC you can use both
Speaking for myself I don't really enjoy games that much on my PC anymore. I prefer the confort of my couch and my 32" TV. I'm getting old I guess.

Other than that, I don't think it makes sense to get a beat-em-up game on the PC based on the argument that it controls better with a keyboard and mouse. Because it just doesn't, IMO. The same way that some people prefer FPS games on the PC for more accurate controls, but that actually makes sense.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 05:59 AM   #99
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Speaking for myself I don't really enjoy games that much on my PC anymore. I prefer the confort of my couch and my 32" TV. I'm getting old I guess.

Other than that, I don't think it makes sense to get a beat-em-up game on the PC based on the argument that it controls better with a keyboard and mouse. Because it just doesn't, IMO. The same way that some people prefer FPS games on the PC for more accurate controls, but that actually makes sense.
The point is you can use a control pad with the game on PC, or a keyboard and mouse, depending on your chosen preference. You can also hook your gaming PC up to your TV if you wanted to, you have that option.

On console you have no options.

And personally as I get older I find myself needing to play on my PC more and more, due to needing to get away from the family room and the TV being tied up more and more.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 07:36 AM   #100
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

I used to game with a gamepad in one hand & a mouse in the other. Best of BOTH worlds
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 08:34 AM   #101
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
The point is you can use a control pad with the game on PC, or a keyboard and mouse, depending on your chosen preference. You can also hook your gaming PC up to your TV if you wanted to, you have that option.

On console you have no options.
That was not what was said in this thread. No mention of options, only the fact that the keyboard and mouse will be used for this game which will offer superior controls... Hence the choice of the PC version... Meh... That argument is just silly...

On the other hand, it's quite obvious the PC will be getting the better version. Graphics will be equal or definitely better if you increase the resolution and apply AA/AF. PhysX support will be present though its not really gameplay enhancing.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 08:49 AM   #102
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

PhysX enhances the game environment to make it more realistic, not so much game play. I rather have PhysX than crappy static objects.

I would say it can enhance game play sometimes, since you can interact with the environment more. Just like with Crysis, it's not the same without the physics.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 09:17 AM   #103
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

i guess the phyx in batman is like playing crysis on its max settings, it doesnt really add much in terms of gameplay, it just adds that 'wow' effect that really makes you want to play more and smash more things....sadly as a ATi card owner...we get bum ****ed on this one hehe...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 10:11 AM   #104
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
The point is you can use a control pad with the game on PC, or a keyboard and mouse, depending on your chosen preference. You can also hook your gaming PC up to your TV if you wanted to, you have that option.

On console you have no options.

And personally as I get older I find myself needing to play on my PC more and more, due to needing to get away from the family room and the TV being tied up more and more.
I think I said before, because of the versatility of the PC, the only arguments you can make against it in consoles' favor is cost and ease of access. After that, its just arguments about your own game preferences skewing your favor to a particular platform.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-28-09, 10:26 AM   #105
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
That was not what was said in this thread. No mention of options, only the fact that the keyboard and mouse will be used for this game which will offer superior controls... Hence the choice of the PC version... Meh... That argument is just silly...

On the other hand, it's quite obvious the PC will be getting the better version. Graphics will be equal or definitely better if you increase the resolution and apply AA/AF. PhysX support will be present though its not really gameplay enhancing.
I played batman on both my 360 and PC I prefer mouse and keyboard. The controls just worked better imo. I can always hook up my 360 controller to my PC if I ever have the urge. The only thing I use a controller for are driving and sports games. Everything else, including Batman, is much more comfortable using a mouse and keyboard. I'm sure many PC gamers will agree.

Also without PhysX you are just missing so much of the visuals its not even the same game. Comparing Batman on the 360 to the PC with Physx is like comparing Pacman to Ghostbusters... sure there are ghosts in both games but the whole game looks a lot different.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 10:50 AM   #106
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

I think I'm about halfway through the game now, absolutely love everything about it. It actually lives up to the hype.

By the way can you mouth-breathers start a different thread with all this idiotic "LOL PC VS CONSOLE" ****, it's completely off topic, not to mention insanely stupid.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 11:00 AM   #107
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Also without PhysX you are just missing so much of the visuals its not even the same game.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 11:25 AM   #108
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Official Batman Arkham Asylum Thread

I watched a 'making of' Batman on spike tv last night.Wicked is all I can say simply wicked.The asylum is on a huge island and is modeled after alcatraz island prison.The scale and effort these guys put into the game is stunning,a must buy for all Batman fans.
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.