Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-09, 11:44 PM   #1
Minooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Unhappy GTX 295 Problem

Hi everyone,

I just got myself a GTX 295 last week and i have noticed a problem and i'm not too sure what is causing it.

Sometimes when I load a game (L4D, Wolfenstien (the new one), some features tests in vantage) I get red/green (it randomly chooses the colour) snow that won't go away until i reload the game. I will try to replicate it again to upload a photo if i can.

If you guys can help it would be great.

Thanks
Minooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-09, 12:32 AM   #2
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: GTX 295 Problem

It could be overheating, Is it factory overclocked? What temp is it running at while playing these games?

You could also try re-installing the latest drivers.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-09, 01:11 AM   #3
Minooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: GTX 295 Problem

It is factory clocked, i haven't monitored the temps yet, because it is as soon as the game loads - but i will do that and post them.

I have already tried re-installing the drivers (completely removed them first).
Minooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-09, 02:28 AM   #4
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: GTX 295 Problem

Try downclocking to to what a GTX 295 should run at to see if that helps.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-09, 08:28 AM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: GTX 295 Problem

Try this.

http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/

It may not give that card a full workout, but it will give you an idea of the temps without trying to run a full screen game to get them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-09, 08:45 AM   #6
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: GTX 295 Problem

Yeah man fry that baby up!

http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-09, 05:33 PM   #7
Minooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: GTX 295 Problem

Thanks,

I will try both of those tonight when i get home from work.
Minooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-09, 03:11 AM   #8
Minooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Problem? What Problem?

Well I couldn't push it past 64C per core - is that good or bad?

I believe I have fixed it though - I was using both the 8 & 6 pin plugs on the same cable - as soon as i used a second cable it was fine & also scored an extra 1000 in vantage.

I thought it didn't matter if 1 rail was used or 2, so long as your psu had more than 46amp in total (12v) - oh well

Thanks Guys
Minooch is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-09, 07:20 PM   #9
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Problem? What Problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minooch View Post
Well I couldn't push it past 64C per core - is that good or bad?

I get red/green (it randomly chooses the colour) snow that won't go away until i reload the game.

Thanks Guys
the temp is fine You see green and red on your screen or the light on your card also what driver are you using? any ways glad you fixed it
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-09, 08:06 PM   #10
Minooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: GTX 295 Problem

It was on the monitor

im using 190.62
Minooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.