Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-09, 03:33 PM   #1
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Remote Desktop

Guys,
I need a good remote desktop application. I need something that is not intrusive to the end user, but I can use to remotely control the machine on the other end.

If it's something that is worth buying, I will purchase the software.

I've tried:

Dameware (didn't like it)
VNC (I want to be able to use it without having the end user installing something on their pc)
DiscipleDOC is offline  
Old 09-01-09, 03:58 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Remote Desktop

there was to be something running on the end user side.

at my previous job, all PCs had remote desktop software running, if IT ever needed to take control of the PC.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 09-01-09, 04:02 PM   #3
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
there was to be something running on the end user side.

at my previous job, all PCs had remote desktop software running, if IT ever needed to take control of the PC.
The problem with remote desktop is that it will log the user off. I will need to see what's on that user's desktop, if needed...
DiscipleDOC is offline  
Old 09-01-09, 04:10 PM   #4
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Maybe you are looking for a feature you wanted called Seamless Window?

Seamless Window: the software allows an application to be run on the server, and just the application window to be shown on the clients desktop. Normally the remote user interface chrome is also removed, giving the impression that the application is running on the client machine.

Here are full listing of remote deskop software with features and OSes supports comparison table.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...sktop_software
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline  
Old 09-01-09, 04:40 PM   #5
Bigbuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to Bigbuck
Default Re: Remote Desktop

I use Radmin and its a pretty good program although not free.
__________________
Bigbuck is offline  
Old 09-01-09, 05:38 PM   #6
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Dameware Doc, Is the only one ihave used that does NOT need user interaction.
Our company uses is exclusively and we have no problems with it.

There are many functions it can perform , once you get used to it.

All you need to do is set a group policy for the users firewall \ Exceptions

Tcp port 6129.

If using xp make sure that simple file sharing is disabled/removed form folder option view.

Also on first login , sometimes it misbehaves and doesn't let you connect.
Just right click the target machine in dame ware , click on services, the services will load after about a minute or two , then stop the firewall =service. you only need to do this once and only on occasion. Teh remote control settings are easy too. use the admin account for the domain , network password and domain. all done. Also works very well over a vpn.

Remote desk top for servers and dameware for client machines .
Drolfrawd is offline  
Old 09-01-09, 05:41 PM   #7
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Remote Desktop

We use a completely online Remote software that NO ONE has to install. It is completely through this website. I'll ask at work tomorrow and get back to you.
 
Old 09-01-09, 05:56 PM   #8
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Doc, have you checked out Italc?

It's actually designed for using in classrooms to help the teacher with their job, but you might be able to play around with it and use it for your setup.

It's GPL so it's free to use.

http://italc.sourceforge.net/home.php

The only catch is that yes you'll need to install something on the client side. I honestly don't know of anything that doesn't at least require something be installed on the users pc.
Bman212121 is offline  

Old 09-01-09, 06:17 PM   #9
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Remote Desktop

We just use Remote Desktop and VNC here at work.
 
Old 09-01-09, 06:32 PM   #10
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Supposed to be pretty good.
http://www.radmin.com/
bacon12 is offline  
Old 09-02-09, 06:20 PM   #11
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Doc if you just want to se whats on their desktop, then you could always just use the admin share. \\machinename\c$

Just sayin
Drolfrawd is offline  
Old 09-02-09, 08:17 PM   #12
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
Doc if you just want to se whats on their desktop, then you could always just use the admin share. \\machinename\c$

Just sayin
No....I need to be able to control it as well. I am looking for some type of remote desktop app that I can run via the web.
DiscipleDOC is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.