Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-09, 01:26 AM   #1
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default My 280 just died :(

Was working fine last night when I went to work, but when I woke up today, it had decided that running 3d applications was too hard and started scrambling textures and whatnot into a rather colourful display. Thankfully it's well within the first 12 month replacement warranty offered by the company I purchased it from, but what do you think they'll replace it with? I'm hoping a 285.

The major problem is, they'll probably make me take a 3 hour drive just to the store so I can get it tested and replaced, then make another 3 hour trip home.

*UPDATE: They will allow me to send it to them, but they have to test it before sending it to Asus for replacement. Then I have to arrange for pickup.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 01:42 AM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

I was just talking to a guy on MSN who had the same thing happen! OMG WEIRD!

::

Hope you can get is sorted quick smart. Without having to adventure all the way into Brissy.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 05:06 AM   #3
Drax
Registered User
 
Drax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

Happened to my old 280 as well. Made like a purple checkerboard pattern.
Drax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 05:21 AM   #4
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

Another Update: Got it to start working again. Not sure if it will remain so, but hopefully it will.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 07:17 AM   #5
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

TBH i wouldn't even bother with letting it work. If it's acted up replace it. because if it starts acting up again it might be outside of the warranty then you're out of luck. But feel free to play russian roulette
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 06:58 PM   #6
Drax
Registered User
 
Drax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

Yeah, mine stayed alive for a little while (I had plenty of time on the warranty). It would act up intermittently, but eventually it just got worse and worse.
Drax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 07:09 PM   #7
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

have you checked your temps?... the initial GTX280's had problems with the HSF and it would reach 100*C+ easily... i had one that would go to 105 and then start stuttering like crazy... i exchanged it for another one and i've had it for more than 1 year now without issues... this one maxes out at 80-85*C overclocked
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 08:09 PM   #8
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

If it got better without any real logical reason (changing drivers, reinstall windows, etc) then you should definitely get it replaced. Chances are that it will start doing it again. If you are absolutely sure it's better, then you should definitely run it through some rigorous stress tests.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-10-09, 06:54 AM   #9
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

I recommend putting your GTX280 in the freezer then purchasing a GTX295. Also putting that in the freezer. Should cool things down nicely.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-09, 03:12 AM   #10
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
I recommend putting your GTX280 in the freezer then purchasing a GTX295. Also putting that in the freezer. Should cool things down nicely.
+1 Freezers are known for their cool temperatures, but don't take my word for it.

__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-09, 12:57 PM   #11
MaxBlade
Registered User
 
MaxBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 46
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

Good luck WeReWoLf. I have the same card. And a few months ago I sent it in.. got the same card back.. worse then when I sent it in. They told me (still got the emails) they had NONE in stock and could take months to get it replaced. Mine keep showing red blocks everywhere after a short time.. on all my 3 systems.. and if you've been around awhile then you know its memory.. even the tech said that and I should send it in..

Still got the invoice saying "REPAIRED" lol yet after hours of talking to them they said "well its says tested fine" we just tested it and it passed. I asked why did you and others keep saying it was repaired then? no answer... in the end it got replaced.. never give up never surrender. keep trying theres always always someone that WILL help and get it replaced

Just be careful .. if they test lmao it like they did mine you might be getting the same one back.. I mean If I just plug it in and run it for 5-10min.. works great!

But man I will not buy another Asus graphics card.. Yes their good.. its getting it FIXED thats the problem..
__________________
"keep The Faith"
MaxBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-09, 01:33 PM   #12
Kemo
The Smite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 217
Default Re: My 280 just died :(

Man I am SOOOO GLAD I didn't take the leap into the GTX 200s.
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550 @ 3.61Ghz (425x8.5)
evga 680i SLI (T1 Version)
8GB Corsair XMS PC8500 5-5-5-12 (SPD) DDR2@850Mhz
8800 GTX SLI
Corsair 750W PSU
Kemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.