Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-09, 03:42 PM   #13
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: 3TB boot partition possible?

Surely Intel makes one that does.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 03:52 PM   #14
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: 3TB boot partition possible?

Intel has BLKDP45SG - DDR3 only. Poor design and you probably cannot overclock it.

More mobo makers should switch to EFI.
__________________
Q9550@3.4 + Asus P5Q Premium + 16GB RAM + 2xVelociraptor 300GB + 4xWD Black 1TB RAID-5 on Adaptec 5805 + PoV GTX580 + Dell 3008WFP + Windows 7 x64
Xbox 360 Elite + Kinect + Onkyo receiver + Acoustic Energy Aelite 1/3/center speakers + 46" FullHD Samsung TV
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 09:33 PM   #15
sniggle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 209
Default Re: 3TB boot partition possible?

If an SSD as an OS drive is an option, why not do that? As many others here have said, I don't see why you'd want a massive partition as your OS drive. You make a point about large app installs but they simply just go on the large partition at that point if you're out of space.

The speed of an SSD as your OS drive would be deeeelicious too!
__________________
Gaming Box
Asus P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 4.25ghz 1.38v | Thermalright TRUE | 3x 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC12800 @ 811mhz (2:8) 9-9-9-24 | eVGA GTX 580 SC | 2x Intel SSD G2 80GB RAID 0 | Audigy X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair 750HX | Antec P-183 | Dell 3007WFP | NEC 20WMGX2

Home Server
DFI P35 T2R | Q6600 @ 3.0ghz 1.3v | OCZ Reaper 640 | GeForce 8600GTS | 2x 150GB WD VelociRaptor raid 1 (os), Synology DiskStation DS410 with 4x 2TB Hitachi | Corsair HX750
sniggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 10:41 PM   #16
wwec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 58
Default Re: 3TB boot partition possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LovingSticky View Post
"RAID-0" scares me! Even loosing one day work is too scary.
Not as much as baby Jesus cries every time someone misspells lose
wwec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-09, 11:30 PM   #17
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: 3TB boot partition possible?

dont be a douchebag wwec.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 11:37 AM   #18
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: 3TB boot partition possible?

I think I made a final decision

About to buy 2x VelociRaptor 300GB, stripe them (RAID-0), install OS and all programs onto this boot partition (600GB is more than enough for all apps I have), and backup it regularly onto 3TB (4x1TB) RAID-5, single GPT volume. Data, music, videos, databases, VMware images, backups, etc., will stay there.

2x VelociRaptor 300GB is about the same price as 1x OCZ Vertex Turbo 120GB, but I cannot fit all programs I need on 120GB SSD.

What do you think?
__________________
Q9550@3.4 + Asus P5Q Premium + 16GB RAM + 2xVelociraptor 300GB + 4xWD Black 1TB RAID-5 on Adaptec 5805 + PoV GTX580 + Dell 3008WFP + Windows 7 x64
Xbox 360 Elite + Kinect + Onkyo receiver + Acoustic Energy Aelite 1/3/center speakers + 46" FullHD Samsung TV
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.