Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-09, 09:37 PM   #1
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default KOTOR on Steam!

YAY! The one game I have been craving to replay but too lazy to look for the CDs has released on steam!

So wheres the second one... im waiting... /tap /tap
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-09, 09:53 PM   #2
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

nice, i never had the chance to play the first, i how eva did play kotr2 and loved it!
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-09, 10:34 PM   #3
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

never played the first or second.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-09, 10:56 PM   #4
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

are the widescreen "hacks" compatible?

Why can't they just release an tiny official patch for both games
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-09, 10:57 PM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
are the widescreen "hacks" compatible?

Why can't they just release an tiny official patch for both games
Gonna test it out in a few, never had any issue with unofficial patches working with steam games.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-09, 11:02 PM   #6
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

There are a rare few that don't work with Steam... also, you can't chang exe names in Steam games or they won't launch, and some hacks require that.

I bought this... trying to stay away from Steam right now, but this is one of those games I kept wanting to buy back, but ebay copies are all like $60. I'll get this for now and see if the old boxed copies drop in price as a result of this.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-09, 11:46 PM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

I may actually grab this, its only 10 bucks.

1. Is it worth it?

2. Any problems with this on 64bit vista?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-09, 11:49 PM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
I may actually grab this, its only 10 bucks.

1. Is it worth it?

2. Any problems with this on 64bit vista?
1) yes, great game

2) with UAC off and admin account works fine
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-05-09, 11:52 PM   #9
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Sigh, Unwis wont work with the Steam release. You have to manually hex edit it to support widescreen... its alot of work.

Anyone wana do the work and share their exe with me.

EDIT:
NM, Got it to work! Widescreen WOOT!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-09, 12:07 AM   #10
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Sigh, Unwis wont work with the Steam release. You have to manually hex edit it to support widescreen... its alot of work.

Anyone wana do the work and share their exe with me.

EDIT:
NM, Got it to work! Widescreen WOOT!
How?
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-09, 12:09 AM   #11
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Sigh, Unwis wont work with the Steam release. You have to manually hex edit it to support widescreen... its alot of work.

Anyone wana do the work and share their exe with me.

EDIT:
NM, Got it to work! Widescreen WOOT!
how and screenshots please!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-09, 12:13 AM   #12
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

I cheated, I used a modified version of the exe and then patched it.

Trying to fix the HUD now... override mod doesn't work.

  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.