Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-09, 04:09 PM   #49
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Well, you are doing something wrong... it won't just magically not work on your copy. Go through the steps again.
Contrary to popular belief, I am not retarded

I went through all the steps and downloaded all the correct versions of the applications.

If you check out the forums for the small changer app, there are some issues and they even suggest a fix. I couldn't be bothered to use the fix as it is actually somewhat time consuming, and go through a hex editor and change items through that.

I'll play at 1600x1200 and be happy but thanks for the consideration
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 04:18 PM   #50
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

I bought I+II at the weekend for 2 a pop.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 04:36 PM   #51
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Contrary to popular belief, I am not retarded

I went through all the steps and downloaded all the correct versions of the applications.

If you check out the forums for the small changer app, there are some issues and they even suggest a fix. I couldn't be bothered to use the fix as it is actually somewhat time consuming, and go through a hex editor and change items through that.

I'll play at 1600x1200 and be happy but thanks for the consideration
So you got the steam version? Did you download the modified exe? If so it should work perfectly... I don't know why it wouldn't, its the exe everyone who has the steam version is using.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 08:55 PM   #52
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Contrary to popular belief, I am not retarded

I went through all the steps and downloaded all the correct versions of the applications.

If you check out the forums for the small changer app, there are some issues and they even suggest a fix. I couldn't be bothered to use the fix as it is actually somewhat time consuming, and go through a hex editor and change items through that.

I'll play at 1600x1200 and be happy but thanks for the consideration
One Steam/Retail copy of KotOR is not different from another. The steps we outlined on WSGF, per Magus' comments and testing, work for every copy of the game. If something went wrong, it was user error. I'm not calling you retarded, I am saying you skipped something.

As Magus just said, did you skip the fixed exe section? The forum posts you menton on WSGF are ones I was involved with...the issue was that hacking the Steam exe would be a whole new matter and a new fix, which is why the directions tell you to switch the exe.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 09:15 PM   #53
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

To both posts above, yes. Followed all the steps perfectly, got all the .exe's
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 09:27 PM   #54
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Then the only thing left to say is, Get off your dam mac!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 09:42 PM   #55
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!



But the new ichoons came out today and os 3.1 for the iphun
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 10:04 PM   #56
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Oh, mac.
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-09-09, 10:30 PM   #57
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
To both posts above, yes. Followed all the steps perfectly, got all the .exe's
Did you type your res into the patcher before hitting patch? A lot of people miss that.

You missed something.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-09, 09:25 AM   #58
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
You missed something.
Yeah, The exe doesn't randomly change for people... if we download the same file it will be identical for both of us...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-09, 02:28 PM   #59
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Did you type your res into the patcher before hitting patch? A lot of people miss that.

You missed something.
Yes.

Believe me, I followed all the steps to a T

Once I had the res typed in and clicked on patch, it gave an error, 2 separate errors actually saying patch could not be applied due to blah blah blah line-error in something or other.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-09, 03:03 PM   #60
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: KOTOR on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Yes.

Believe me, I followed all the steps to a T

Once I had the res typed in and clicked on patch, it gave an error, 2 separate errors actually saying patch could not be applied due to blah blah blah line-error in something or other.
That really sounds like it can't modify the exe. Did you download the correct crack? There is a specific one. Also, perhaps check the exe's security settings, make sure your profile can modify it.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.