Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-09, 04:08 PM   #37
jdspinna
Dad
 
jdspinna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to jdspinna Send a message via Skype™ to jdspinna
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

I played a little bit today. Seems easier to control on expert than Forza and Forza 2. Car models look great and the tracks look good.

Noticed some whacky physics when the cars roll. For nstance, mycar was on it's roof and slowly gliding down the track.

I really need to play more before I can form an opinion.
__________________
Gaming enthusiast.

Shall we play a game?
XBL = INdescript
PSN = INdescript
jdspinna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 04:33 PM   #38
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Well I played it for a bit. Very nice graphics, shown in true 720p with 4xMSAA. Cars look stunning and polished. Control feels great and heavy (but I'm not those racing gamer by default so don't trust me on this part). There's good amount of options to choose from, like change the damage preference from cosmetic to simulation or so. The damages on car looks great. The track in demo is beautiful and detailed. Once you're in race, game runs in 60 fps with no hiccup so far. HDR is a nice touch.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:01 PM   #39
jdspinna
Dad
 
jdspinna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to jdspinna Send a message via Skype™ to jdspinna
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NaitoSan View Post
Very nice graphics, shown in true 720p with 4xMSAA.
I'm almost positive it's only 2xMSAA. It looks way too aliased to be 4x.
__________________
Gaming enthusiast.

Shall we play a game?
XBL = INdescript
PSN = INdescript
jdspinna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:28 PM   #40
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Downloading,forgot about the demo release today
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:39 PM   #41
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Wow, this game is beautiful, might be the best looking 360 game. I thought it was 1080p at first. It looks very crisp and runs smooth. I hear they are running it at 60fps.

It does seem a little easier to control.

The demo is only one map but it will still nice.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:40 PM   #42
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdspinna View Post
I'm almost positive it's only 2xMSAA. It looks way too aliased to be 4x.
You might be right. Might be because it's using 2xAA in-game and 4xAA for menu and others.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:56 PM   #43
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Yeah, the aliasing is the only real major eyesore. I'm not even sure there is 2xAA when racing in 3rd person views.

How does one do the time trials without AI? I circuited alone right away trying the game for the first time but now reentering the game all I get are full AI populated races.

Edit: NM, figured it out. Time Trials are started from the Leaderboard menu only.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 07:15 PM   #44
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Looks and runs great and handles that way too,small gripe with the wheel in c0ckpit wiew not being animated fully with the joystick,it should move a lot more.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-09, 08:13 PM   #45
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy sung View Post
Looks and runs great and handles that way too,small gripe with the wheel in c0ckpit wiew not being animated fully with the joystick,it should move a lot more.
Exactly my thoughts. Also it has decent load times unlike NFS:Shift.
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 08:34 PM   #46
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

But how does it look as compared with the shots earlier in this thread guys? Just curious. I agreed with most above that thought there is no way F3 or GT5 will look as good as shown...
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 09:19 PM   #47
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

Well,as far as i can tell it's close/same as some of them and not as close as others.Mainly resolution and AA levels differ from the cleanest of screenshots but others are spot on.
This IS ingame footage,the R8 looks like this in the game and thats good enough for me tbh.

http://www.gametrailers.com/video/e3...torsport/50144


If GT5 can top that i'm all for it,i personally think these carmodels are superior to shift and i also think the handling by far outshines shift.Shift does have the advantage of res and AA on a good PC but the console version of shift can't even touch F3 .Graphicly GT5 can compare carmodelwise but the little this demo show of enviroment detail is superior to the GT5P demo i have for my PS3.

Edit :

One thing i noticed though,not every car you race against in the demo is rendered as good as the car you drive.Hard to spot sometimes but there's plenty of different replay cams and you can tell there by looking at some of the wiews,theres one of the front wheel/fender where the rounded edge of the fender next to the tire is less perfect on a few AI cars.Remains to be seen if that will remain in the final game i guess.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 09:52 PM   #48
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Forza 3! (A LOT of large images!)

The pics on the first page look like 1080p with 16xAA.

It does look like that in game, just not with those edges.

It's not that jaggy though, it's not like Halo 3.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.