Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-09, 12:56 PM   #13
wrathofgod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 364
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Don't get me wrong, I'm definitely buying the game and support all good game developers, but...

lol...there was a fix for that a day after the game was leaked...
wrathofgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-09, 01:04 PM   #14
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC



Pirates FTL.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-09, 02:01 PM   #15
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

They should do this with all games. And after installation of a purchased copy, have a message pop up and prompt users to register their game on a website to patch their game via a downloader.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-09, 02:50 PM   #16
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
It's a good idea as long as the devs let people know.

Titan's Quest apparently had the same sort of things, but didn't tell anyone until after the studio went belly up. Intentional? Or just a way to cover up game breaking bugs?
Yeah TQ should have had a error message saying that the crash was due to a failed protection check, as it was it would just drop players to the desktop and that got it a bad name, people just thought it was unstable and buggy, when in reality it was just a pirated copy with only the initial check removed that caused pretty much all of the issues.
And that gave some bad word of mouth.

As they mentioned in that post after they shut down, they had their forums swamped by people crying about instability before the game was even released.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-09, 05:51 PM   #17
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by dikinher View Post
They should do this with all games. And after installation of a purchased copy, have a message pop up and prompt users to register their game on a website to patch their game via a downloader.
This.

Problem is, the PC platform. Anyone can reverse engineer, crack and patch things. ::

Honestly, if more ISP capped people connections, more would go out and buy games. They are gamers, they have to have the game. If they can't get it online after being capped, you know they'll go down and buy the damn thing. Same for movies and TV programs.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-09, 04:30 AM   #18
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
It's a good idea as long as the devs let people know.

Titan's Quest apparently had the same sort of things, but didn't tell anyone until after the studio went belly up. Intentional? Or just a way to cover up game breaking bugs?
Spyro on Ps1 had tens of those as well, all kinds of little clitches and characters telling you to buy the game.
After couple of stages there was point where one jumping platform was missing so you couldn't complete the game.
It took a long time for pirates to make perfect hack to the game.
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-09, 05:04 AM   #19
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Honestly, if more ISP capped people connections, more would go out and buy games. They are gamers, they have to have the game. If they can't get it online after being capped, you know they'll go down and buy the damn thing. Same for movies and TV programs.
What, and kill digital distribution in the process? I don't think you've thought about it all the way through...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-09, 05:46 AM   #20
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Steam and the like would be quota free fancy pants.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-13-09, 06:05 AM   #21
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Steam and the like would be quota free fancy pants.
Ok. What will they cap then? Torrents? Fine. Newsgroups? OK. How do they cap rapidshare and the lot? Unless they cap the whole connection, those cannot be blocked since its the standard http protocol that is used. I know first hand, my old ISP used to pull tricks like that when they had bandwidth problems. If you cap that, you cap everything that uses it, including normal websites and sites like Filefront/Fileplanet etc, including Steam and the like...

So an ISP would be committing suicide... If my info is wrong, someone say so...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-09, 07:32 AM   #22
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

capping is really weak, what about people working with things like SVN and syncing data daily, you could run into that cap pretty fast.
This would be pretty much every open source or mod project.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-09, 07:51 AM   #23
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Ok. What will they cap then? Torrents? Fine. Newsgroups? OK. How do they cap rapidshare and the lot? Unless they cap the whole connection, those cannot be blocked since its the standard http protocol that is used. I know first hand, my old ISP used to pull tricks like that when they had bandwidth problems. If you cap that, you cap everything that uses it, including normal websites and sites like Filefront/Fileplanet etc, including Steam and the like...

So an ISP would be committing suicide... If my info is wrong, someone say so...
you sir are not wrong you are right
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-09, 08:42 AM   #24
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: LMAO @ this bug in Batman - PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Ok. What will they cap then? Torrents? Fine. Newsgroups? OK. How do they cap rapidshare and the lot? Unless they cap the whole connection, those cannot be blocked since its the standard http protocol that is used. I know first hand, my old ISP used to pull tricks like that when they had bandwidth problems. If you cap that, you cap everything that uses it, including normal websites and sites like Filefront/Fileplanet etc, including Steam and the like...

So an ISP would be committing suicide... If my info is wrong, someone say so...
People are always going to find a way to pirate things, whether it be games, music, movies, programs, etc. And yes, you are right. You ISP can't cap bandwidth or speeds just to stop some pirates, that's a little extreme IMO. How would you like to have your Interwebz cut down to 56k speeds again because your neighbor or friend on the same ISP decided to download a movie?

The Batman anti-piracy was a pretty good idea IMO.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.