Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-09, 03:11 PM   #1
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Not much else to say.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:17 PM   #2
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

As dumb as this might sound... this is guaranteed to work 100% on modern systems? Cause I'm a major fan of the JK series, and loved DF. I'm ready to purchase the entire pack right now... just a little skeptical as DF is a 16-bit app and I want to know for sure it'll work on 64-bit Vista.

Quote:
Due to the age of the title, users may run into a few compatibility issues from use of current hardware. Please see the forums for more information.
Just saw this at the bottom of the Steam page. Think I'll wait till others try it. Want some feedback and I'm not looking to be a guinea pig either. lol
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:18 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

16bit will not work in 64bit system
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:21 PM   #4
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Dark Forces works fine... looks like ass though. Is there a gzdoom sort of thing for that game?

The others are still downloading.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:23 PM   #5
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
16bit will not work in 64bit system
Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Dark Forces works fine... looks like ass though. Is there a gzdoom sort of thing for that game?

The others are still downloading.
Well, I know the original DF was 16-bit, but I'm not sure what they did to this steam version. I'm assuming you're using a 64-bit OS NarcissistZero? If so, glad to hear it works. I must also ask, does AA/AF and the likes have any effect on the game? Just curious.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:28 PM   #6
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

maybe the installer was 16 bit, not the full game?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:29 PM   #7
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Just bought it!
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:30 PM   #8
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

lol- couldn't wait!

Bought and am downloading ATM. I gotta' head out, but I'll be back in a few hours to give my official take on this. Since my desktop is my only rig with a 64-bit OS and it's down, I've been using my lappy. It can run a 64-bit OS (has a Turion64 x2 proc), but currently only has x32 Vista HP on it so in a worse-case scenario I can just use the laptop for DF.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-16-09, 03:31 PM   #9
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Well I will hold off for a while, I have way to many games now and I just won't be able to play them all now. And yet the sales go on and I keep buying, I must be insane .
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:34 PM   #10
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
maybe the installer was 16 bit, not the full game?
I doubt it. DF was a DOS-based application. I'm not 100% sure, but am near certain that it was 16-bit. To the best of my knowledge, there was never a 32-bit version of DOS (excluding the ones found in Win95 and later).

Anyhow, here's to hoping it plays flawlessly on my rig. I have a hunch it will have zero effect, but really looking forward to trying the game at 1024x768 with max AA/AF. Just curious if it'll work, and how it'll look.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:47 PM   #11
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

FYI, Dark Forces uses DosBox to run. The game is DOS based so you can't enable AA/AF.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 04:16 PM   #12
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

I want the original Jedi Knight. I still have the disks but it only works in virtual pc and that sux.
Does Jedi Knight work on Vista 64? I am down to a pitiful 9500GT so retro gaming has all of a sudden become my thing, lol.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.