Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-09, 05:30 AM   #85
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco View Post
Has anyone found a way to map mouse1 and mouse2? I'd like mouse1 to be primary fire, mouse2 secondary fire.
Not quick save and quick load?
Sorta felt that might be a good idea at times in JK2, turn a corner and plunge to your death etc.
Still, an awesome game.
What game doesnt have mouse 1 as primary fire do you say?
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-09, 06:22 AM   #86
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Yeah, I think those buttons are automatic to be that way on the Valve provided Steam configuration... if they could map them to that, anyone should be able to.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-09, 11:29 AM   #87
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Just move right in close to your screen 'Deemed.
THANKS CRAINGER- THIS WORKED!!!!

If I press my face directly against my monitor- it's just as if it were full screen! W00T!








Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-09, 07:59 PM   #88
Sweetz
Registered User
 
Sweetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

So anyone know any tweaks to improve the graphics of Jedi Knight?

Enabling AA in drivers just causes buffer overdraw and is therefore unusable. However, I can live with a jaggies in a game this old, what's really bugging me is the game's aggressive texture LOD scaling/mipmapping. I can't stand walking toward a wall and seeing it snap between 4 distinct detail levels.

What "funny" is that the game only works in 3D acclerated mode for me, software mode just crashes.
__________________
Core i7 875K + Corsair H50
EVGA P55 LE
EVGA GeForce GTX 570
2 x 2GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Creative X-FI Titanium
Corsair 620HX PSU
Win7 Home Premium x64
Sweetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-09, 08:12 PM   #89
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

hell yea game zone through msn games I believe. It was always free for me tho. Used to play JKII all the time through it. Can't remember if the game even had a server browser besides this external site.
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-09, 08:51 PM   #90
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetz View Post
So anyone know any tweaks to improve the graphics of Jedi Knight?

Enabling AA in drivers just causes buffer overdraw and is therefore unusable. However, I can live with a jaggies in a game this old, what's really bugging me is the game's aggressive texture LOD scaling/mipmapping. I can't stand walking toward a wall and seeing it snap between 4 distinct detail levels.

What "funny" is that the game only works in 3D acclerated mode for me, software mode just crashes.
Software works for me but has screwed up colors... 3D works perfect. Funny indeed.

I don't see any jaggies... is there AA in the settings? If so I turned it on and had no problem, if not I guess the game is just not very jaggy to begin with. I agree the texture loading is terrible, but I don't know if I would mess with the game since I understand it is hard to get working perfectly like I have it.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-09, 10:07 PM   #91
Sweetz
Registered User
 
Sweetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
I don't see any jaggies... is there AA in the settings?
Heck no, not on a game that old. I agree that the aliasing isn't really all that noticable though. It's probably because the game is so blocky to begin with that it really doesn't bring attention to jaggies like the more curved, complex architecture in newer games.
__________________
Core i7 875K + Corsair H50
EVGA P55 LE
EVGA GeForce GTX 570
2 x 2GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Creative X-FI Titanium
Corsair 620HX PSU
Win7 Home Premium x64
Sweetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-09, 12:07 AM   #92
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetz View Post
Heck no, not on a game that old. I agree that the aliasing isn't really all that noticable though. It's probably because the game is so blocky to begin with that it really doesn't bring attention to jaggies like the more curved, complex architecture in newer games.
You mean AA hasn't been around forever? Hahaha.

Anyway, yeah I never really saw enough jaggs to bother me.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-23-09, 01:40 AM   #93
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

beat JK2 yesterday, awesome game.
Fired up JK1, and it acctually worked right away.
Can only choose 1024 though, doesnt look all that hot stretched out on a 1080p 40" LCD.
But after all the complaints about it, I was just happy it worked.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-09, 01:51 AM   #94
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Set your card to scale the game with fixed aspect ratio... no stretching.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-09, 02:48 AM   #95
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Dark Forces Remake mod for Jedi Academy is pretty cool...


__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-09, 04:16 PM   #96
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Set your card to scale the game with fixed aspect ratio... no stretching.
For some reason scaling is greyed out on my primary monitor (HDTV via HDMI), but not on my secondary monitor.
Tried a couple of different drivers but no dice.

Anyhow, after beating JK2 and starting up JK:A...
man.. Im REALLY bummed I cant use lightsaber in first person view as with JK2.
Got really used to that.. dont care much for the third person view.
Saw some discussion on some forum about how to set things up, gonna have to check into that tomorrow or something.
EDIT:
found this, gonna give it a shot.
http://jediknight3.filefront.com/fil...aber_Mod;27567
EDIT2:
worked fine.
Camera totally melts down if you use "Speed" though.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.