Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-09, 04:19 AM   #97
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Anyway to switch off vertical axis mouse inversion? The invert option in mouse options only enables/disables the horizontal axis inversion. When I fired up the game the other day, I can swear that it wasn't enabled...
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 04:24 AM   #98
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Not sure what game you are talking about, but I have never played a game where the mouse was inverted, and I have played all the JK games.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 05:46 AM   #99
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco View Post
Anyway to switch off vertical axis mouse inversion? The invert option in mouse options only enables/disables the horizontal axis inversion. When I fired up the game the other day, I can swear that it wasn't enabled...
I had that in JK1, so Im guessing thats the one you mean.
The setup offers separate invert for both axises, so you just have to select the vertical axis first, and use the checkbox there.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:07 AM   #100
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Thanks jolle, that did it. I reset a lot of the settings when playing around, and apparently forgot how the mouse menu worked. NarcissistZero the default setting in JK1 (at least the version I played with) was non-inverted for x-axis, inverted for y-axis. I didn't notice this the first time around (~1997) because I didn't use mouse back then.

Oh well I'm done screwing around with the.. less legal edition, I was just going to see if there was music in that version by chance if you ran Daemon in the background with the CD loaded. But I realize I don't know when to listen for the first piece of music, and finding out etc. it's not worth the hazzle. I'm just going to buy it off Steam now. I have a very slim hope that they will patch the music in at some point, but it's probably a long shot.
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:43 AM   #101
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

I know the steam version was non-inverted by default.

I looked on youtube for game videos of JK1 to see what the music is like, but every video on there lacks music too. I am assuming they are all pirate copies.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 07:40 AM   #102
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Actually mouse inversion on y-axis was enabled by default on both JK1 and MotS on Steam as well. You must've recalled incorrectly
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 08:02 AM   #103
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Actually, I used the Steam pre-config for controls... they talked about it on the store page or something. Sets everything up for WASD and such.

So nevermind.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 08:39 AM   #104
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

So any way to force fullscreen? Sorry if I missed it previously in the thread
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-09, 10:15 AM   #105
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

It looks like the developers have changed the game executable of the Steam version, so that the game is forced windowed in all non-gameplay sequences, i.e. menus and cutscenes. The LLE (Less Legal Edition) had fullscreen as default, whereas you had to type "-windowed" or something (I don't remember the exact command).

Ok, I thought, so what if I type "-fullscreen" in Steam launch options or in the parameter of a shortcut of the Steam exe, but then the game just won't even start.

Here is the LLE exe for those of you who want to want the cutscenes fullscreen:
http://rapidshare.com/files/28440617...screen.7z.html
To be honest I don't if this is the original exe or a patched/custom one, but the fact is that it works.

And contrary to NarcissistZero's worries, the live-action cutscenes look fine in fullscreen (as they were meant to be viewed).



Beware of the following:

1. When launching the game and when going from game to menu via escape botton, one has to alt-tab in and out or press windows botton and maximize the game again. Otherwise the screen will stay black although you can hear the menu click sounds and everything works, it's no good without a visual.

2. The menu sometimes and quite randomly mess up some or all colors on the screen. This does not affect any functionality and is merely a visual glitch.

3. The opening cutscenes with the lucasarts logo and subsequent opening cutscene has weird colors. Skip it and watch it from the menu cutscene launcher instead, from there it looks fine. Note that the second game cutscene that comes when you launch a new game plays with fine colors the normal way and does not have to be viewed through the main menu cutscene launcher as the first has to.

These three glitches are the prices you pay for fullscreen cutscenes experiences, but they're quite worth it IMO

Hopefully the mods won't react on this because it's possibly an exe originating from a non-legal version of the game.. the only practical difference between this and the Steam version is the glitch-free-windowed and glitched-fullscreen, neither requires CD as we know.
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-09, 07:12 AM   #106
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

I turned on god mode to kill that little midget jedi.

Screw that.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-09, 01:17 PM   #107
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
I know the steam version was non-inverted by default.

I looked on youtube for game videos of JK1 to see what the music is like, but every video on there lacks music too. I am assuming they are all pirate copies.
I have the original Jedi Knight CDs and MotS from when I was a kewl kid. It really was a big deal to me back then, and that was the first game I played without midi music and I loved it. Shame I just can't get them to install on Vista64. I will only play this game with the original music like it was intended to be played.
Will probably install Windows 98SE on a virtual pc and play it that way. I've done it before and CD sound and everything works. Just play it in software mode. There's not that big of a difference really with how the game looks.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-09, 01:18 PM   #108
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Jedi Knight Series on Steam - $20 for whole lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearMeAll View Post
I have the original Jedi Knight CDs and MotS from when I was a kewl kid. It really was a big deal to me back then, and that was the first game I played without midi music and I loved it. Shame I just can't get them to install on Vista64. I will only play this game with the original music like it was intended to be played.
Will probably install Windows 98SE on a virtual pc and play it that way. I've done it before and CD sound and everything works. Just play it in software mode. There's not that big of a difference really with how the game looks.
If you have the game CDs just put them in while you play the Steam version, viola you have music.

I forgot how good Dark Forces was. Played through the whole game in one sitting last night.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.