Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-09, 09:33 AM   #1
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Why does nvidia not let physx work with a ATI card now.

I just can't believe nvidia is that worried about ATI .Even I was thinking about getting a HD5870 and use one of my nvidia cards for PhysX ,but it looks like with the new drivers nvidia put a stop to that .If you want to use a old nvidia card for your PhysX ,you better have a nvidia card as your primary card.This to me looks to hurt nvidia ,what did they have to worry about ,don't they have a big enough market share as it is.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-09, 10:20 AM   #2
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Why does nvidia not let physx work with a ATI card now.

No, Nvidia not worried about ATI. It because ATI didnt wanted their cards to take or share advantage of physx driver, ATI is against physx so they wanted Havok, OpenCL and Direct Compute.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-09, 12:01 PM   #3
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Why does nvidia not let physx work with a ATI card now.

Officially its for compatibility reasons, they cant ensure stability with users mixing and matching ATi and NV GPUs, and different combinations of the drivers for each.
And ontop of that running rendering and physics split between theirs and someone elses driver.

I would guess there is some truth to that, but I dont think NV is loosing any sleep of it either.
I guess they´re hoping that the sales lost from ATi users wanting a NV GPU for physX are made up by ATi users replacing their main card with a NV one or something.

As for ATi not supporting PhysX in general, thats simly that they would only strengthen their competitors propriety API, CUDA, if they were to support that, and they really dont stand to gain anything from that.
Besides, with Havok coming in with GPU support via OpenCL (which can potentially run on any sort of device, CPU, GPU, CELL, DSP etc), PhysX will prolly have to move over to OpenCL to compete, with that large a target audience OpenCL powered physics middleware would have over a CUDA powered one.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-09, 12:17 PM   #4
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Why does nvidia not let physx work with a ATI card now.

why do people keep making thread's about this?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-09, 01:55 AM   #5
JH24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 143
Default Re: Why does nvidia not let physx work with a ATI card now.

So it was once possible to use a Nvidia card for Physx with an ATI card? Interesting.


I do understand Nvidia’s decision though. People could simply buy an AMD card and give their previous Nvidia card a second life for Physx instead of buying a new card from them. But maybe having two different cards would have given problems in the long run.


It’s too bad though, I’m interested in an AMD card (Really hoping Nvidia will show something soon, they need to convince people to wait a little longer for their cards, including me) and I had been playing with the idea to use my current Nvidia card as a secondary card for Physx.
JH24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-09, 09:39 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Why does nvidia not let physx work with a ATI card now.

Its a good decision at this point IMO.

Its obvious that they're doing it on purpose or at least neglecting to make both cards compatible... but can you blame them?

They have a few really nice features going for them that work great on a mid range or last generation GPU. Physx and CUDA. If they allowed those GPUs to work with ATI's, then they would basically be taking away two of their primary selling points for their high end cards. If the 5870 is priced right, anyone could just buy one of those and keep their existing Geforce without losing any features.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.