Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-03, 09:39 AM   #13
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Hello again,

there were requests for the original mails between myself and Epox (Germany).

Well, the mails contain a disclaimer that I'm forbidden to forward/publish any of this, so I removed/replaced some text.

First mail, Date: Thu, 24 Apr 2003 14:34:46 +0200
Quote:
Hallo,

wir haben dieses Problem bereits an die Biostechniker in Taiwan
weitergeleitet.
Diese sind bereits daran das Problem zu lösen, und in ein Biosupdate
einzubinden.
Das neue Update wird demnächst auf www.epox.de erscheinen, einen genauen
Termin dafür gibt es leider noch nicht.

Ich möchte Sie bitten sich bis dahin zu gedulden.


MfG
<name>
ELITO EPoX Computer GmbH
<address 1>
<address 2>
Tel: <phone>
Fax: <fax>
Mail: mailto:<eMail>
URL: http://www.epox.de
Second mail, Date: Fri, 30 May 2003 11:40:41 +0200
Quote:
Hallo,

leider ist das Problem noch nicht gelöst.
Ich möchte Sie bitten, sich noch etwas zu gedulden.

MfG
<name>
ELITO EPoX Computer GmbH
<address 1>
<address 2>
Tel: <phone>
Fax: <fax>
Mail: <eMail>
URL: http://www.epox.de
=============================================
Bitte Original-EMail bei Antwort mitschicken!!
Ohne Original-EMail ist eine Beantwortung nicht möglich!!
=============================================

Disclaimer:
Diese eMail und alle enthaltenen Files sind streng vertraulich und nur
für
die Person gedacht, an die sie geschickt wurden. Jegliche
Veröffentlichung
und Verbreitung ist verboten.

Wichtiger Hinweis:
Die technischen Informationen in dieser e-mail enthalten den zu dieser
Zeit letzten Stand.
Daher können sich diese ohne Benachrichtigung ändern.


-----Ursprüngliche Nachricht-----
Von: <eMail>
Gesendet: Mittwoch, 28. Mai 2003 20:49
An: <eMail>
Betreff: 8RDA / Linux / Nvidia / BIOS

Hallo nochmal,

ich will nicht den Ungeduldigen spielen, aber gibt es
schon was neues zu diesem Thema?

Danke & Gruß

That's it.

@Martin: good point.
You should try BIOS dated 29.01.03.
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-03, 01:19 AM   #14
Martin Zoubek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 9
Default BIOS flashing madness

Yesterday I've tested a lot of BIOSes:
3609 no
3522 no
3507 no
3418 no
3402 no
3327 no
3319 no
3305 no
3303 no
3129 computer didn't start, ended with POST code C1 (Detect memory)

Quote:
Originally posted by K8enspieler
You should try BIOS dated 29.01.03. [/b]
Evidently not a good idea...

And one strange thing - USB works with all tested BIOSes except the last, 3609 - are the new versions more and more buggy?
Martin Zoubek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-03, 02:29 AM   #15
tubsmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Hello

I've got the same problem (since i updated my bios to the latest one)

I also write an email to epox support germany.
But the only answer i got:

ehm...same disclaimer as above
Quote:
Hallo,

in diesem Fall müssten Sie sich leider an die Linux Distribution wenden,
da wir hier leider nicht helfen können.
means: its not our beer, contact your linux distributor


mmh he never heard of that problem?

hope there will be a solution soon....
tubsmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-03, 06:07 AM   #16
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default BIOS 29.01.03

Martin I'm sorry for this.

My Mainboard shipped with the BIOS dated 16.12.02 and I had the same C1-problem. I "played around" with my memory - e.g. plugging the DIMMs in and out - until I got my system booting up. Then the problem was almost gone, it occured about every 10th boot and doing hard reset(s) helped a lot. After some weeks BIOS 29.01.03 was available and after flashing the problem did not occur any more.

Last edited by K8enspieler; 07-03-03 at 06:17 AM.
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-03, 06:35 AM   #17
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Rehi toether,

@tubemaster:
yeah, same problem w/ my support partner. I think i am going to cross-post to UK, NL and US support, hope to get answers from there...

@martin and k8rtenspieler
mh, yesterday i planned to downgrade my BIOS also; "luckiky", my floppy connector broke prior to that (had to remove it from another PC cos my new one does not have one will never have).
And i had no intention of fixing it. Maybe this safed me from harm...
Sorry Martin; try the same as k8rtenspieler did; HTH.

If / when i got news from EPoX Tech i18n, i will inform you!

Seeya,

Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-03, 07:10 AM   #18
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Hello,

It is me again. I cross-contacted EPoX UK, Europe/NL and USA and hope to get an answer soon.

@all w/ 8RDA+
Did you try this BIOS anmed in this thread:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=13451
? (titled "Lets wipe out this blank screen once and for all", or similar).

Hoping for a new 8RDA BIOS....

Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-03, 02:41 AM   #19
Martin Zoubek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: BIOS 29.01.03

Quote:
Originally posted by K8enspieler
Martin I'm sorry for this.

My Mainboard shipped with the BIOS dated 16.12.02 and I had the same C1-problem. I "played around" with my memory - e.g. plugging the DIMMs in and out - until I got my system booting up. Then the problem was almost gone, it occured about every 10th boot and doing hard reset(s) helped a lot. After some weeks BIOS 29.01.03 was available and after flashing the problem did not occur any more.
And, can you start your GeForce with this BIOS?

I've found a solution to this problem - I'll sell my motherboard and buy one with VIA KT400 chipset. What is the best (and WORKING UNDER LINUX) motherboard?
Martin Zoubek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-03, 03:58 AM   #20
Lane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7
Unhappy

Same problem here blazko. I just wanted to set up another 8rda/nvidia thread
It seems this is definitely an 8RDA issue:

Athlon XP 2200
Epox 8RDA
GF4 Ti4200

I tried the whole thing in RedHat 9 and now in Debian (woody) with the 2.4.18, 2.4.21 and 2.5.73 kernel. Currently i´m testing with 2.4.21-rc8-ac4. I also tested lots of different kernel konfigurations (dri, agp, acpi, ...) and some XF86Config options... no effect.
Only difference seems to be, that my system is completely freezed, i only can do a reset. And when i set "NvAgp" "4" i get sweet blue, horizontal bars.

I´m now configuring/compiling/googeling/forum browsing/ppl asking about two weeks, and slowly it really pisses me off :/ Especially when i see, that for the most 8RDA+ dudes the problem seems to be solved with the new bios version...

Lane
Lane is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-04-03, 04:50 AM   #21
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Question: I couldn't find any statement from Andy Mecham to this issue, or did I oversee something?
Maybe NVidia can work around this...
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-03, 05:27 PM   #22
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Hello all!

Just a short status update. As mentioned, i wrote to EPoX UK, USA and NL after having written to DE. Feedbacks so far:

- UK: none
- USA: "write nVidia" -- i did this, hope to get an answer...
- NL: forwarded to DE
- DE: i stated clearly that my PSU is okay. Thus, they reported our problem again to Taiwan and say that a new 8RDA BIOS is underway (whohoo! - hope so)!!!
I said that perhaps a stripped (-Firewire and -LAN) 8RDA+ BIOS will do, cos some 8RDA+ users had success with the very last version.

I will keep you up2date,

Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-03, 05:28 AM   #23
Lane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7
Default

yepp, i got the same respone from epox germany. lets hope this is not the 08/15 answer...

Lane
Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-03, 10:20 AM   #24
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Do I see a light at the end of the tunnel ?

@blazko/lane: Yeah, if they don't have an answer it's always your PSU, memory, overclocked, ....
Thanks for putting so much into this, again.

Last edited by K8enspieler; 07-05-03 at 01:18 PM.
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHEL 5.6 .nvidia-settings-rc settings un-applied on screen lock bluziff NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 05:12 AM
NVS3100 (Thinkpad T410) blank screen on resume NvFuchs NVIDIA Linux 2 05-15-12 01:02 PM
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 06:00 PM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.