Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-03, 10:05 AM   #25
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Unhappy

No news so far?
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 10:35 AM   #26
charlyw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Default Another one bites the dust..

Quote:
Originally posted by K8enspieler
No news so far?
Only that I just bought such a board (and if all else fails am going to return it on warranty). The interrupt assignment to USB/Firewire/Network is pure shambles and the reason X11 locks up with the nvidia driver ist a total loss of the interrupts (none are transmitted from the card)...

regards
Charlyw
charlyw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 12:28 PM   #27
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Rehi,

Sorry, no news so far. As said, they sent our problem in a weekly report to Taiwan and said wo shall wait for our new 8RDA BIOS...
Mh....

Greetz, Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-03, 05:14 PM   #28
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default sit and wait

Ok.

I needed some "mental support"... I'll just sit and wait.
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-03, 07:04 PM   #29
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Hello all,

Just saying that after 2 months my box is still not working. No new 8RDA BIOS so far (trying the Taiwan page blindly...).
Had anyone of you success in the meantime?

Greetings, Blazko

P.S. we should found a slef-helping group (dammit, don't know the English word for it, in German language we call it "Selbsthilfegruppe"...) called "The Anonymous EPoX 8RDA GNU/Linux users waiting for 3d Accel".
Perhaps we should reverse engineer an 8RDA+ BIOS and modify it for 8RDA?
:-)
Nope, but seriously, i just have no faith in using an 8RDA+ BIOS, although that may work (some have tried, as i told already?). Seeya!
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-03, 07:35 AM   #30
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default

"Selbshilfegruppe" - nice ;-)

Alright then, I'm very disappointed. Epox has released various other BIOS-files for their 8RDA+/8RDA3 in the mean time without releasing a new 8RDA BIOS.

They won't tell us, but I think they're not going to support the 8RDA any longer. (please prove me that I'm wrong!)
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 06:54 PM   #31
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Rehi all!

I just did again a look at the Taiwanese EPoX site and found out an interesting thing: when selecteding the Board info of the 8RDA, there is a BIOS button. Then you get a list of BIOS' and there appear just BIOS' for:

8RDA
8RDA+
8RDA3+

Though being a filtered view, are these BIOS now compatible???
It seems quite bvious, just look at the new file name conventions. And it is now secret that at least older 8RDA+ BIOS' worked w/ 8RDA.

Just take a look:
http://www.epox.com.tw/content.exe?k...cate=07_fae_03

(note, i navigated blindly there, cos i cannot read characters and understand that lnaguage :-)


So, please, would you all contact your EPoX support people and ask'em for compatibility, please? And do some web research?
The next days I am very rare in time, so it would be great if you could also collect some information. Of course, i wil take the time to contact EPoX also.

Would be great to hear from you!

Greetz, Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-03, 06:56 PM   #32
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Addon:

Sorry, of course there are other Boards name dalso, but all close to the 8RDA. I just dunno: in the columns w/ board name, there are some boards grouped. Thus, one will gues there are some bundle BIOS', but why are they enlisted under 8RDA? See caption / heading. Mh....

seeya
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-03, 07:50 PM   #33
netarchy
Registered User
 
netarchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 19
Default

When I first installed the GeForce FX 4363 drivers, I was getting that scrambled screen myself. In my case, setting "NvAGP" "1" in my XF84Config-4 fixed the problem, and has been rock steady ever since.

Xfree 4.3.0, Linux Kernel 2.4.21, KT400 Motherboard, GeForce FX 5900
netarchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-03, 05:05 AM   #34
Lane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7
Default

theres a new 8RDA BIOS available, but i could not test yet...
Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-03, 05:59 AM   #35
K8enspieler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
07/18/2003
1) Update BPL version to 3.09 for increasing memory stability.
Sorry people, I'm not very euphoric about that. Maybe I can test it within the next week.
K8enspieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 03:36 PM   #36
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Hello everyone,

Had you any luck so far?
I tried flashing my BIOS, but after having entered the filename in AWDFlash, it hang every time, but had something written. After some CMOS clears and F10s my BIOS recovered....

Yesterday, i upgraded to the new nVidia driver - still black.
Then, i tried the trick from Problemman
(http://nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthre...threadid=15296)
to update to 2.4.22pre8 (at least pre4 required), but somehow it hand when loading USB. Deactivated USB in BIOS and tried again; could boot but was somehow broken. Could be my fault, no question (cos all other modules also weren't loaded.... just could get nvidia.o inserted w/ manual modprobe.

Did anyone of you tried these steps? Btw., is there *ANYBODY* out there having a running 8RDA (non-plus) w/ GNU/Linux and a Geforce card?

Please, say something! :-)

Greetz, Blaz
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHEL 5.6 .nvidia-settings-rc settings un-applied on screen lock bluziff NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 06:12 AM
NVS3100 (Thinkpad T410) blank screen on resume NvFuchs NVIDIA Linux 2 05-15-12 02:02 PM
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 07:00 PM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 04:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 07:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.