Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-09, 01:34 AM   #1
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Boot Time

It is consistently taking ~80 seconds to get past the Windows logo screen on each boot. I have tried disabling all startup programs in msconfig and in the Startup folder, as well as disabling all nonMS services, but there was no difference in time. What else can I try to speed it up?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 01:58 AM   #2
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Boot Time

get a new hard drive. New win 7 install on our older athlon pc boots like lightning.
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 02:09 AM   #3
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Boot Time

The drive that W7 is installed on is a new drive. The best that I remember, it was quite fast when first installed. That leads me to think that it is something that has changed software wise, but I'm not sure how to pinpoint it.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 03:01 AM   #4
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Boot Time

Back in the beta a few people had issues with the GUI boot. I'm 99% sure it's fixed now, but you could try it. Wont cost you a thing except for a little time.

open msconfig and got to the boot tab. and tick no gui boot. It just turns off the fancy load screen for 7 and test.

Other than that, try new drivers for all your hardware, if that fails, try going back to the standard WDDM drivers from Microsoft. That's fiddly and time consuming and I'd only do that after a backup if it's your main rig.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 03:41 AM   #5
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Boot Time

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Back in the beta a few people had issues with the GUI boot. I'm 99% sure it's fixed now, but you could try it. Wont cost you a thing except for a little time.

open msconfig and got to the boot tab. and tick no gui boot. It just turns off the fancy load screen for 7 and test.
I just tried that, and there wasn't any change...not only of time, but the load screen and the rest of the sequence was exactly the same as before.
Quote:
Other than that, try new drivers for all your hardware, if that fails, try going back to the standard WDDM drivers from Microsoft. That's fiddly and time consuming and I'd only do that after a backup if it's your main rig.
I have a hunch that the problem is with some driver, but which is the question. Long ago, there was a program call boot configurator, or something like that, that timed the loading of each and every driver, so it was easy to see where the slowdown was. Unfortunately, I don't think that there is anything like that now.

Msconfig's boot tab also has options Boot Log and OS Boot Info, which I also tried, thinking it might provide some info like the program that I just mentioned, but after rebooting, I looked around the files and found nothing that appeared to be related. The only thing that seems to work on the boot tab is the window for setting the default boot entry in a multi-boot setup.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 07:12 AM   #6
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Boot Time

Sounds like there is more going on here than drivers if only one option works on that tab. They all work for me. No GUI boot does exactly what is says and now I get is a blank screen.

I'm inclined to say it's a corrupt OS install if core options aren't working.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 12:15 PM   #7
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Boot Time

You may well be right, but since this installation is already destined to be replaced in ~a month, I guess I can tolerate it as it is til then.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 12:16 PM   #8
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Boot Time

My boot is pretty slow in Win7 RC, but not 80 seconds... more like 25.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-25-09, 04:04 PM   #9
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Boot Time

Why still on RC meth? RTM has been for awhile now. My boot is around 10 seconds to login, then 5ish for all start up apps including Steam to load.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 04:17 PM   #10
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Boot Time

I would imagine that he is like me, and doesn't have access to the RTM until Oct. 22.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 05:36 PM   #11
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Boot Time

From the first bios screen to being logged into Windows and able to use programs takes about 45 seconds on mine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-09, 03:18 PM   #12
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Boot Time

Not all of us have access to RTM until 10/22. I can't wait to ditch this dirty 7100 build.

I got a new HD and everything.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.