Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-09, 05:33 AM   #445
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Risen

Trans AA worked for me, I didn't rename the exe, I just set it up in nHancer. Worked just fine using latest drivers.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-09, 06:44 AM   #446
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Risen

Well I just finished Uncharted 2 and this is next on my list. I did play through the other day once I got Windows 7 installed and got through the part where the demo ended and I no longer have the issues that affected me before. I am surprised that supersampling doesn't hit my framerates as hard as I expected, especially in 3-D, but I am not complaining.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-09, 11:54 AM   #447
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
Yeah when I had the Vanguard compatibility up for AA I just forced it. I would alt-tab and try different settings and it really looked all the same to me, and my framerates were not changing either. Are you using the most recent WHQLs?
That's because you can't change the settings in-game, you have to actually log out, make your AA changes through Nhancer and log back in.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-09, 03:17 PM   #448
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
That's because you can't change the settings in-game, you have to actually log out, make your AA changes through Nhancer and log back in.
Maybe that's the issue, then. Other games will allow me to alt-tab and change those settings and they work when I get in. I guess I'll test it out.
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-09, 01:15 AM   #449
svartberg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
That's because you can't change the settings in-game, you have to actually log out, make your AA changes through Nhancer and log back in.
I was able to manipulate settings just fine using control panel, without having to restart the game.

It might be that nomec had the same bug I've mentioned previously, in which nHancer didn't work at all.
svartberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-09, 06:18 AM   #450
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Risen

How do you move to chapter 2. I'm level 14 or 15 and am still on chapter 1. Have just about completely explored all the island (that I know of) Do you have to join one of the factions to progress or come to some stage in the game itself.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-09, 07:43 AM   #451
weevil
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Risen

Info on where two and three chapters begin, spoiler space below, select to read


The quest for the disks starts Ch2, after you speak to the Inquisitor- as a Don's man anyway

Chapter3 begins after you deliver the five golden disks to the Inquisitor

Last edited by weevil; 10-30-09 at 07:04 AM. Reason: Found more info
weevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-09, 06:35 PM   #452
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by svartberg View Post
I was able to manipulate settings just fine using control panel, without having to restart the game.

It might be that nomec had the same bug I've mentioned previously, in which nHancer didn't work at all.
Could be, but Risen has never worked on the fly with Nhancer for me. I've had to log in and out for it to work.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-09, 09:12 AM   #453
nomec
Registered User
 
nomec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 242
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by svartberg View Post
I was able to manipulate settings just fine using control panel, without having to restart the game.

It might be that nomec had the same bug I've mentioned previously, in which nHancer didn't work at all.
Did you get it fixed? What did you do?
nomec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-09, 04:21 PM   #454
jcossin
-=> Indy <=-
 
jcossin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 476
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
You are right, it is stunning in 3D. I'm really loving this game. I haven't had this much fun in years.
Awesome! I just picked this game up on eBay so I'm looking forward to playing it. I just loaded up Windows 7 on my laptop so this'll be the first game for me under Win7.
__________________
http://www.cardcycle.com - Send greeting cards and gifts with a click!

http://www.greetingcardsgirl.com - Check out the weekly Free Sale list posted every Sunday.

Asus G71Gx Laptop
nVidia 260m GTX 1GB DDR3
Intel Core2Duo P8700 (2.53GHz)
6GB 800MHz DDR2
64GB Corsair Xtreme SSD
500GB 5400RPM SATA HDD
17" 1440 x 900 WXGA+ LCD
Windows 7 64-bit
jcossin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-09, 04:22 AM   #455
svartberg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomec View Post
Did you get it fixed? What did you do?
I tried nhancer which didn't work, so uninstalled.
Made a copy of risen.exe and rename it to Vanguard.exe.
In nvidia cpanel 3d settings, there's a premade profile for Vanguard(vanguard.exe), I just used whatever settings there and it worked when I launched the renamed vanguard.exe.

Also I was able to manipulate those settings while risen was running, and simply clicking apply in nvcpanel updated the game in realtime which was awesome for tests.

Hope it helps, again I have 182.5 drivers with 285gtx.
svartberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-09, 04:55 AM   #456
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Risen

Well I finished Risen last night and I must say I enjoyed the game thoroughly .

I completed just about all the quests as a Don man and explored the island completely. This added up to at least 60 or 70 hours of game play. So for me the game was a good value as well as fun.

Best parts of the game for me were how it began, felt seamless to me, and the combat system. The sword fights with the Lizard men were great fun.

Risen gets two thumbs up from me.
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.