Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-09, 10:23 PM   #61
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Risen

Err... ok. I just tried to play this and after fighting two enemies and running through the woods a bit I could no longer enter combat mode. The button just stopped working entirely. I bound it to another button and it still didn't work.

I can already tell this was made by the guys that made Gothic...

Other than that it seemed decent for the 10 minutes that I got to play. The interface actually seems like it was designed by someone who's used a computer before, which is a nice improvement. The graphics are pretty nice and the performance is decent. The background sounds cut out when they loop though which is pretty distracting.

I'll give it another shot. I just thought I'd report that I encountered a game breaking bug within 10 minutes of installing the demo.

EDIT: Sorry for the sarcasm. In all honesty, this already seems like a much more accessible game than Gothic 1 and 2. This is an easy bug to fix, its just kind of sad that something like this could happen at all.

EDIT2: Just loaded it up again and reloaded my save. Got killed by a bird. The combat seems a little off to me, like the enemies can do a lot of things that the player can't and they move much faster than your character.
Reloaded my game and the rain effects disappeared and these little water splash sprites started flickering and bouncing around the scene.

Maybe I'll try playing this some time when I'm in the mood to deal with glitches...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-09, 10:30 PM   #62
Bladestorm
Registered User
 
Bladestorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 139
Default Re: Risen

I can't even get the demo to run. It installed fine, but when I start the game it crashes right away with a physics SDK error.
__________________
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
i7-2600K @ 4.5 GHz 1.29vcore
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 580
Palit GTX 580
Creative Titanium HD
Silverstone Strider Gold Evolution 1000W
Corsair 650D
Samsung S27A850D
Bladestorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 01:20 AM   #63
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Risen

I thought I read somewhere the character's combat prowess will increase as you train up. I do like the fact that the monsters don't just stand in front of you and let you whack them. The damn big cat I ran into was having some fun with me heh.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 04:02 AM   #64
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Risen

anyword on y it was banned in australia? btw the demo u can download/play -.-
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 04:09 AM   #65
stefan9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pretoria,south africa
Posts: 298
Default Re: Risen

I have the full version and my map isn't working.

Hi guys. Need some help. Do you first need to find a map for the map to start showing or is my game bugged?? The journal updates the quests but there is no map. Not world,regional or quest.

Please help.

System specs: intel core2duo e8500
4 gig ddr 2 800 mhz ram
geforce 260 gtx
windows 7 rc 7100

Directx updated to latest as well as nvidia drivers updated to 190.62
__________________
P160w
Aopen 700 watt
asus p5n32 e sli bios 1205
2x2 gig ddr 2 1200 mhz ocz reaper ram
250 gig and 320 gig sata 2 seagate baracuda h/d
intel core2duo e8500
evga geforce 260gtx
sound max dts card
zalman 9500at
windows 7 home premium
stefan9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 05:00 AM   #66
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefan9 View Post
I have the full version and my map isn't working.

Hi guys. Need some help. Do you first need to find a map for the map to start showing or is my game bugged?? The journal updates the quests but there is no map. Not world,regional or quest.

Please help.

System specs: intel core2duo e8500
4 gig ddr 2 800 mhz ram
geforce 260 gtx
windows 7 rc 7100

Directx updated to latest as well as nvidia drivers updated to 190.62
I don't think your game is bugged....I was just reading a pre-view of Risen and it said the map could be completely left off if the player wanted to play through that way. Look for a toggle or option switch for the map.
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 05:20 AM   #67
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Risen

I don't know about the retail version but in the demo I didn't actually have a map until I found one sometime into it.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 06:18 AM   #68
stefan9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pretoria,south africa
Posts: 298
Default Re: Risen

My mistake guys. Wasn't aware you needed to find maps. I found some maps and now everything is fine. Loving the game.
__________________
P160w
Aopen 700 watt
asus p5n32 e sli bios 1205
2x2 gig ddr 2 1200 mhz ocz reaper ram
250 gig and 320 gig sata 2 seagate baracuda h/d
intel core2duo e8500
evga geforce 260gtx
sound max dts card
zalman 9500at
windows 7 home premium
stefan9 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-02-09, 08:10 AM   #69
weevil
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Risen

Thanks Bladestorm, but- wait a minute- is that from Risen the beach looks different

Gothic3 had immersion and atmosphere like the Witcher but was even more open-ended

I stupidly got too powerful (entirely legally) in Gothic3 and spoiled it for myself but lots of scenes in that game linger in the memory
weevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 11:00 AM   #70
fizzelopeguss
Registered User
 
fizzelopeguss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 278
Default Re: Risen

I loved the combat in gothic 1 and 2, when you actually learnt it you'd find yourself slashing left and right and blocking with amazing speed, it's just something you couldn't do with a two button mouse or a single thumb pressing buttons on a controller. Infact it reminds me more of a fighting game using a joystick.
fizzelopeguss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 11:43 AM   #71
shilk
Registered User
 
shilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 913
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
anyword on y it was banned in australia? btw the demo u can download/play -.-
Because you can use drugs and women as a form of currency in the game. The demo doesn't go that far into the game or doesn't cover that certain aspect of it, so I guess that's why it was okay. It's being appealed already, so there's still plenty of time for it to be edited and released if it doesn't conform to their liking.

God forbid people in Australia to actually learn how to become Pimps and Hustlers from a videogame, lol.
shilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-09, 01:18 PM   #72
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Risen

Quote:
Originally Posted by shilk View Post
Because you can use drugs and women as a form of currency in the game. The demo doesn't go that far into the game or doesn't cover that certain aspect of it, so I guess that's why it was okay. It's being appealed already, so there's still plenty of time for it to be edited and released if it doesn't conform to their liking.

God forbid people in Australia to actually learn how to become Pimps and Hustlers from a videogame, lol.
I thought the exact quote was sex as a reward for a quest... haha... that was a lot sexier than trading women as slaves.

Oh well.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.