Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-09, 11:47 AM   #1
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 39
Default Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

Hi!
I need to confirm that it uses both cores before I go ahead and upgrade my gtx280.
Thanks
__________________
*CPU: i7 920 DO @ 4.1Ghz 1.35v HT On
*CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 SanAce/Scythe/Delta
*Mobo: Evga X58 SLI
*RAM: 3x2GB OCZ DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GK 7-7-7-24 1.65v
*Video Cards:XFX GTS250 Physx card & Evga GTX 480 (850/2000)
*Sound Card: X-Fi Prelude| Speakers: Strata Mini + ELT 525s (AV123)
*PSU: Corsair HX1000W
*Display:Samsung 2233RZ 3D Vision!!! | Mitsubishi 60" DLP (3D) 3D Glasses (stunning!)
*Windows 7 64Bit on GSkill Falcon V1 SSD 64GB
*Case: CoolerMaster HAF932
*Others: Logitech MX518 | Ratzpad GS | Logitech G15 | Xeno Killer Pro Nic
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-09, 02:13 PM   #2
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

It will work with 2 GPUs. But will not work 3 or 4 currently.

Chris
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-09, 02:15 PM   #3
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

I am using one and it works great.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-09, 04:36 PM   #4
Amaury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

doesn't work in Tri-SLI or Quad.
Amaury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-09, 04:40 PM   #5
Amaury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

The games will work/run but the cards won't be used. The most demanding games Crysis and Stalker Clear Sky have lots of post processing effects issues with 3dvision anyway. So a SLI or GTX295 should be fine but you have to lower or even disable AA if you like 60fps on certain other games in 3d.
Amaury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-09, 06:53 PM   #6
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

On a quad or 3 Way SLI setup. 3D Vision reverts back to a single GPU. On a standard SLI system. You'll get multi GPU acceleration.

Chris
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-09, 04:33 PM   #7
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

With 3 Way and 4 Way? They have been working on it. Just taking them forever.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-09, 06:18 PM   #8
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay View Post
On a quad or 3 Way SLI setup. 3D Vision reverts back to a single GPU. On a standard SLI system. You'll get multi GPU acceleration.

Chris
So the only way to get my 3D to run in at least 2-way-SLI is to remove my ribbon cable from quad-SLI?
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-05-09, 11:31 PM   #9
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GitDat View Post
So the only way to get my 3D to run in at least 2-way-SLI is to remove my ribbon cable from quad-SLI?
Actually you have to take the second GPU out for it to work properly. I "know" I have been on Nvidia case about this for months now.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-09, 11:15 AM   #10
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 39
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

I suppose or HOPE that a GTX295 with a 9800gtx + for physx wont be an issue right?
__________________
*CPU: i7 920 DO @ 4.1Ghz 1.35v HT On
*CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 SanAce/Scythe/Delta
*Mobo: Evga X58 SLI
*RAM: 3x2GB OCZ DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GK 7-7-7-24 1.65v
*Video Cards:XFX GTS250 Physx card & Evga GTX 480 (850/2000)
*Sound Card: X-Fi Prelude| Speakers: Strata Mini + ELT 525s (AV123)
*PSU: Corsair HX1000W
*Display:Samsung 2233RZ 3D Vision!!! | Mitsubishi 60" DLP (3D) 3D Glasses (stunning!)
*Windows 7 64Bit on GSkill Falcon V1 SSD 64GB
*Case: CoolerMaster HAF932
*Others: Logitech MX518 | Ratzpad GS | Logitech G15 | Xeno Killer Pro Nic
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-09, 01:28 PM   #11
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

I hope that isn't an issue, because I have GTX 280's in SLI and a 9600 GT for PhysX, and I would be pissed to find out that I haven't been running games in SLI using 3D Vision all this time. That's the reason I got the second GTX, because running games in regular 2D on a 1680x1050 screen isn't all that demanding.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-09, 04:05 PM   #12
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Does 3D Vision work with GTX295 using both gpus or just one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
I suppose or HOPE that a GTX295 with a 9800gtx + for physx wont be an issue right?
It would not be. No.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.