Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-09, 10:26 AM   #1
AMIGrAve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default How to get full screen with nvidia driver ?

In scummvm, when I switch to full screen with the nvidia drivers, the picture doesn't scale in order to take full screen lenght, it's just centered around black borders.

Using the nv driver bring a normal fullscreen as expected.

How can I get fullscreen in sdl apps using the nvidia driver ?
AMIGrAve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-09, 10:59 AM   #2
mocharhw
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 113
Default Re: How to get full screen with nvidia driver ?

Well you have to setup the proper metamodes. For example, I run TwinView in 2080x1080, but some of my apps need fullscreen 1280x1024 and 640x480, so my metamode line looks like

Code:
Option         "metamodes" "TV: 800x600 +1280+0, DFP: 1280x1024_60 +0+0; DFP: 1280x1024 +0+0,NULL; DFP: 640x480 +0+0,NULL"
You also need to turn off GPU scaling via the nvidia-settings utility to get the smaller resolutions such as 640x480, at least this has been my experience.
mocharhw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-09, 02:29 PM   #3
AMIGrAve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to get full screen with nvidia driver ?

Thanks, it worked (but bring me other problems)

Anyway, I can use fullscreen when I want now.

I just wonder why those things can't happen on the fly because having to restart X server when making those changes is a bit kinky.
AMIGrAve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 03:41 AM   #4
mocharhw
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 113
Default Re: How to get full screen with nvidia driver ?

Just use xrandr, no need to restart X. At least this works for me running Twinview.
mocharhw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 03:57 AM   #5
AMIGrAve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to get full screen with nvidia driver ?

Yes of course, but I mean that you have to edit the xorg.conf in the first place. I guess we won't have all those problems once the nvidia drivers will support xrandr 1.2+
AMIGrAve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-09, 03:48 AM   #6
mocharhw
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 113
Default Re: How to get full screen with nvidia driver ?

If you mean "on the fly" as in running an application that needs to use 640x480 single screen (for example) and it switches to that resolution automatically, this is working for me with just the metamode line I stated before. The primary usage/example I have for this is SDLMAME. Running SDLMAME with the -switchres option will switch my secondary monitor off and put my primary into 640x480. Maybe I'm mis-understanding you because I've seen other discussions about this problem, but maybe I don't understand what the problem is.
mocharhw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.