Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-09, 10:21 AM   #73
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

I meant the demo
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 10:30 AM   #74
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
ArmA 2 has better graphics than OFP2, but it runs like a pig and the campaign is buggy to all hell. Everytime I tried to play the main story, I would half the time crash out at a checkpoint or after saving due to a savegame bug. So I gave up on that and stuck with the Mission Editor, Single Missions, and awesome online multi.

OFP2 however, has been much more stable, and I can actually enjoy the single player campaign now without worrying about random crashes and glitches. Multi hasn't been great so far, and I'm just waiting for all the cheaters and hackers to swarm multi en masse due to lack of anti-cheat and CD key authorization.

The Mission Editor is also a beef for me, as its not in-game, so I can't just plomp down units and jump right in to the mission, see something I don't like, go right back into the editor, and continue editing like I could in ArmA 2 or the original OFP.
My experience with ArmA II was that it was crap. Missing textures, slow performance. At least OFP is fun, looks good and runs well.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 10:31 AM   #75
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
I meant the demo
ah, not that I know of.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 10:41 AM   #76
doom3ed_player
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

i tested. this game is a piece of **** .

back to arma2
doom3ed_player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 10:41 AM   #77
doom3ed_player
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
My experience with ArmA II was that it was crap. Missing textures, slow performance. At least OFP is fun, looks good and runs well.
arma2 is fine now. and its features goes far beyond anything codies can do
doom3ed_player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 10:50 AM   #78
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
ah, not that I know of.
Hey can you do a test and see if you can force AA through the drivers....maybe SSAA might help this game out a little.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 11:55 AM   #79
doom3ed_player
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

futur of video game (Adventure game apart) , is sandbox kind.
anyway...
doom3ed_player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 12:59 PM   #80
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by doom3ed_player View Post
arma2 is fine now. and its features goes far beyond anything codies can do
really? Cause I pulled it out today, installed it, patched to 1.04 and there are missing textures with my HD5870 just like my GTX had. There is missing textures everywhere, some people have "clay model" heads with no definition, the game is one of the biggest wastes of money I have ever spent.

back to the shelf. Maybe in another year they will get it working... but OFP works outta the box. So I guess I will play this in the meantime.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-08-09, 01:02 PM   #81
doom3ed_player
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
really? Cause I pulled it out today, installed it, patched to 1.04 and there are missing textures with my HD5870 just like my GTX had. There is missing textures everywhere, some people have "clay model" heads with no definition, the game is one of the biggest wastes of money I have ever spent.

back to the shelf. Maybe in another year they will get it working... but OFP works outta the box. So I guess I will play this in the meantime.
1.04, as many of other version doesn't support 4GB++ gaming rig. you can't run the game with 6 Gig ram , even on 64bit OS.
a little run on the FAQ should gave you this answer. it's a well - known bug. anyway , who has 4GB++ config for gaming & multimedia? it's absolutly USELESS.

ps: i would add if 30$ is the biggest wast of money you ever done, i think something is wrong .
doom3ed_player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 01:16 PM   #82
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by doom3ed_player View Post
1.04, as many of other version doesn't support 4GB++ gaming rig. you can't run the game with 6 Gig ram , even on 64bit OS.
a little run on the FAQ should gave you this answer. it's a well - known bug. anyway , who has 4GB++ config for gaming & multimedia? it's absolutly USELESS.

ps: i would add if 30$ is the biggest wast of money you ever done, i think something is wrong .
I paid $50 for it when it first came out on Steam.

And if the 4GB bug is well-known, they should be working to fix it. Anyone with a LGA1366 Core i7 rig built for gaming will have 6 (3x2GB) GB of RAM for the triple channel capability, because 3x1GB is just skirting the limits of enough memory for high end gaming (especially on a 64-bit OS, where the OS itself can sit on over 1 GB of memory), and using 2x2GB removes triple channel.

And not everybody uses their rig purely for gaming. CAD and 3D modeling use up as much memory as you can throw at it. You can't tell these people to go into their computer and pop out a couple memory sticks, or make a change in their system config and restart to limit the OS to see only 4GB every time they want to play ArmA2.

The point is that the ArmA 2 is buggy as all hell. If Bohemia still had the Codemasters budget and QA team during development, maybe it would have been better, but they don't. I still enjoy the game immensely, but I'm waiting for a few more patches before I continue the campaign.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 01:19 PM   #83
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by doom3ed_player View Post
1.04, as many of other version doesn't support 4GB++ gaming rig. you can't run the game with 6 Gig ram , even on 64bit OS.
a little run on the FAQ should gave you this answer. it's a well - known bug. anyway , who has 4GB++ config for gaming & multimedia? it's absolutly USELESS.

ps: i would add if 30$ is the biggest wast of money you ever done, i think something is wrong .
LMFAO you've gotta be kidding me?? So you can't run the game with more than 4GB ram on 64 bit OS??? Well that confirms it thats IS the worst money I've ever spent!!!

I have Win7 x64 and 8GB ram, I guess I'm screwed from this crappy game. Way to go Bohemian Interactive!! We'll I'd imagine most people with a x64 OS would have more than 4GB ram thats the whole friggin' point of a 64 bit OS. That is the dumbest thing I've ever heard.

This is why there should be demos. Maybe this is one of those games people should pirate first. See, I got screwed, no ones refunding me my $50 though. But they all bitch and whine about piracy. Funny how they wont give you your money back when the product is just garbage.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 01:39 PM   #84
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Official Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising Thread

Is it so hard to look for the issue on the official forums? It took me 10 seconds to find it through google. Simply add -winxp parameter to the arma2.exe and it won't use more than 4GB in an x64 OS and this way you can avoid the texture/LOD bug on systems with more than 4GB system memory.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.